![]() |
Flopping Reference
What is the particular rules reference for a defensive player not legally being able to fall backwards right before contact???
The play is: A1 is driving to the basket and B1 has obtained LGP, but right before contact they begin to fall backwards. Then there is contact from A1's drive on B1's torso/or body. |
Quote:
NCHSAA: Your play is a perfect example of a defensive player with a LGP reacting imminent contact from an offensive player. This is not flopping to draw a foul but should be a foul by the offensive player if contact occurs. MTD, Sr. |
The bald old ICP fan has it right. There's a difference between "faking being fouled" (illegal) and reacting to imminent contact (legal.)
|
Quote:
Obviously, these statements are the inverse of your OP, and tell us that the guard may move backwards when contact is imminent. |
Coming In For A Landing ...
Quote:
|
BillyMac,
I agree that the defender can always move backwards. The subject of moving backwards when contact is imminent is only part of the legal movements of a defender. Last season, working a three-man crew with an experienced partner, and another official, with considerably less experience, the younger official, from Lead position, called a block when the defender, who had LGP, recoiled upon imminent contact from a driving ball-handler. At halftime, when I asked him what he saw on the play, he said, " The defender was moving backward and he wasn't "set"." So, we had a discussion, which seems to fit the OP. He didn't want to accept my point of view, that the defender always and certainly on the play in question, has the right to move backward. But, a few days later, he came to me and told me he understood it better. I'm sure you've heard, from the fans, and from coaches, the "He wasn't set! He was moving!" kinds of retorts, on such calls. Sometimes it seems they want the defender to "take it like a man" to get the charge call. |
One way I prefer to frame this topic revolves around the effect of any such movement....
If the defender has initial LGP, does the movement of the defender increase or create the contact or does it actually decrease, lessen, or soften the contact. If it is the latter, it is probably not a block....as would be the case when stepping away from the shooter. |
Quote:
Can't the defender legally move sideways? What if the offensive player is airborne, but isn't an airborne shooter? IOW, try reading with context and stop trying to make every statement apply to every situation. That's the kind of crap that leads to your technical foul and myth summaries being so complicated. JMO, of course. |
Practical Application - block/charge
Quote:
|
But He Was Moving ...
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Leaving the statement, "The guard may move backwards when contact is imminent", uncommented on, may lead some Forum members, especially those who may be young officials, or non officials, i.e. coaches, to believe that the only time a defender may be allowed to move, is only when contact is imminent, and/or, only backwards, when veteran officials know that this is not the case, that there are a number of movements that a defender may legally make. As a retired teacher, with over thirty years in the classroom, I can't pass up teachable moments. I'm sorry if I wasted anybody's time. |
Quote:
|
|
Almost ???
Quote:
Quote:
|
And Don't Call Me Shirley
Quote:
|
Theory of Relativity
How about "The defender can always move backward relative to the offensive player as long as s/he don't foul another offensive player in the process."
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35am. |