The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Just thinking... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/82946-just-thinking.html)

bob jenkins Wed Nov 09, 2011 07:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 797792)
So when A1, dribbling in the frontcourt, picks up his dribble in his frontcourt, holds the ball in his frontcourt, and then throws an errant pass to A2, who is standing with both feet in his backcourt, and then the ball hits A2 in the knee, and bounces away, you're not calling backcourt because A2 doesn't have player control?

Yes. That's exactly what he meant. [/sarcasm]

Camron Rust Wed Nov 09, 2011 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 797779)
You have to have player control to have a BC violation.

What you really meant is that before a BC violation is possible, there must have been player control inbounds.

SNIPERBBB Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 797797)
What you really meant is that before a BC violation is possible, there must have been player control inbounds.

Correct.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 10, 2011 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 797797)
What you really meant is that before a BC violation is possible, there must have been player control inbounds.

Yep. And, didn't the rule used to be that player control, by definition, was inbounds?

I wish the NFHS (and NCAA for that matter) would include the deletions in the rules book -- with a strikeout -- to make it more clear what has changed.

Camron Rust Thu Nov 10, 2011 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 797871)
Yep. And, didn't the rule used to be that player control, by definition, was inbounds?

I wish the NFHS (and NCAA for that matter) would include the deletions in the rules book -- with a strikeout -- to make it more clear what has changed.

Yes, but the wording of the backcourt rule as changed to reflect the team control foul on a throwin situation, it implies that their must be player control in the backcourt to have a violation when all that is required is that there be team control inbounds...which starts when a player has control (inbounds) but continues even when no player has control.

Coach Bill Mon Dec 05, 2011 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 797589)
Been discussed ad nauseum.

A throwin from FC to BC is not a violation because the FC and BC are defined in bounds, not OOB.

The tip is not a violation because the committee told us they only intended to change whether free throws were shot. They added some other rule changes to attempt to say that, and came pretty close.

We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.

I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?

Toren Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 802089)
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.

I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?

Snaqwells is correct. This is legal. There's a nice thread where this same exact play was called in a Michigan State game. So even some of the college officials can mess it up.

Raymond Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 802089)
...
I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?

No, next time have the officially licensed PowerPoint slide printed out that tells us to enforce the rules as formerly written, not as they are written now. ;)

mbyron Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 802089)
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.

But they weren't met: the ball was not yet in player control in the frontcourt (9-9-1, 4-13-1). No violation.

The player throwing in the ball does not have player control in the frontcourt if he or she is out of bounds.

Adam Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 802089)
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.

I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?

And this is the problem with the change. Smart officials who actually thought through the ramifications of the rule changes but haven't, for whatever reason, seen the powerpoint.

Besides, doesn't the new rule require PC inbounds before it can be called? Book's in my bag, and I'm getting ready to head to a game.

Coach Bill Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:24pm

So, I should tell the ref, that although there is now Team Control on a throw-in, there was no Player Control in the frontcourt, which is now required for a backcourt violation. And, that is a new rule, too, and is located under the section on backcourt violations???

Raymond Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 802089)
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.

I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 802096)
But they weren't met: the ball was not yet in player control in the frontcourt (9-9-1, 4-13-1). No violation.

The player throwing in the ball does not have player control in the frontcourt if he or she is out of bounds.

mbyron's rule citation covers this play as to why it is not a violation. The new wording in 9-9-1 also now unequivocally makes null and void an old interp involving a pass from A1 from the BC to the FC that is tipped by B1 in the FC and then caught on the fly by A1 in the BC.

What the new wording did do was make it legal for A1 in the BC to throw a pass that is tipped by A2 in the FC and then retrieved by A1 in the BC. This should have, however, should have been rectified in 9-9-2 but wording of that article is pretty bad. This apparently is when you need to break out the PowerPoint slide.

APG Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:28pm

NFHS Basketball Interpretations (2011-2012)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.
RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

Coach Bill Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 802108)
NFHS Basketball Interpretations (2011-2012)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.
RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

Thank you. That's perfect.

letemplay Mon Dec 05, 2011 04:53pm

College foul up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 802091)
Snaqwells is correct. This is legal. There's a nice thread where this same exact play was called in a Michigan State game. So even some of the college officials can mess it up.

Although it could have happened in MSU game, I believe it was Minn vs Virginia Tech in the closing seconds where this call was blown. Official was reprimanded...whatever that is.

Also, should Coach Bill notify the assignor through maybe his AD, rather than go straight to the individual ref he had the sitch with?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1