The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2003, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 185
I know the answer to this one but cannot find it in the rule book: Player A1 attempts the second of two free throws. He misses and the ball is tipped into A's backcourt by A2 where it is retrieved by A3. I know this is not a violation but I would like to show my partner who overruled my no-call where it is in the book. Anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2003, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
I don't know that you'll find an exact case book play of what happened, but just show your partner the backcourt rule (9-9) and then show your partner when a team is considered to have control (rule 4-12).

Note that the first sentence of rule 9.9 says that there must be team control:
"A player of the team in control shall not....."

Z

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2003, 02:02pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,948
Lightbulb Show him this.

To have over and back, you first have to have Team Control. If you have not Team Control, which you do not have on any kind of shot (FT or FG Attempt), then you obviously cannot make any call. So show him 4-12 or Rule 8. If he cannot understand that, the leave it alone.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2003, 04:08pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Use casebook plays 4.12.2 and 4.12.6(b). Close enough and same rationale is used.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2003, 07:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Print the Backcourt Violation or Not Quiz and give him a copy of it. I bet he makes 70 or less.

http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...?threadid=7343
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2003, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,511
The others have the right reason: no team control.
You may cite 2 rules to support this:
4-12-5 and Note 2 following 4-15-4 both say that hitting a rebound is not control.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1