![]() |
Throw-in
National Federation Rules.
This came up at our chapter meeting last evening: Player A1 who is out of bounds moves back (away from the end line) and then teammate A2 reaches across the end line and A1 passes (not hands) the ball to him. Legal? I know that members of team B cannot reach across the end line without consequences but how about a teammate. I'd like a rulebook or case book reference if possible. I could not find anything on this (unusual) situation. |
7-6-2
|
Illegal
7-6 Art 2...The throw-in starts when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in. The thrower shall released the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within five seconds after the throw-in starts. The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds. The throw-in pass shall not touch a teammate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane. |
No one at your chapter meeting knew this or could find it on the book?
|
*crickets*
|
Quote:
Since B can not touch the ball or reach through the line while it is in the hands of the thrower this prevents the thrower from dropping the ball into A2's hands in an area where B is not allowed to defend. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50am. |