The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basketball Interpretations (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/82112-basketball-interpretations.html)

ronny mulkey Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:40am

Basketball Interpretations
 
What are the latest NFHS Rules Interpretations published? 2009-10?

Freddy Tue Oct 11, 2011 12:22pm

Might Need Membership, Though
 
2010-11 are at: https://nfhs-basketball.arbitersport...nterpretations

BktBallRef Tue Oct 11, 2011 07:57pm

Hey Ronny, hope all is well.

There's a thread that somebody updates every year but I can't remember what the title is. Maybe somebody will help us find it.

dsqrddgd909 Wed Oct 12, 2011 06:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 792869)
Hey Ronny, hope all is well.

There's a thread that somebody updates every year but I can't remember what the title is. Maybe somebody will help us find it.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html

Freddy Wed Oct 12, 2011 06:02pm

New and Improved
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 792780)

1011-12 Interpretations came out today on the NFHS website link to NFHS Central Hub.

BillyMac Wed Oct 12, 2011 06:07pm

2011-12 Interpretations ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 793157)
2011-12 Interpretations came out today on the NFHS website link to NFHS Central Hub.

Could you please copy and post them?

Freddy Thu Oct 13, 2011 04:37am

I Don't Think This is Copyright Infringement
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 793159)
Could you please copy and post them?


After posting them briefly the thought occurred, would that be copyright infringement? If not, no problem. I just don't want to be sent to Struckoff Island in shackles where I'd probably be assigned recreation yard games as a wreck ref.

Nevadaref Thu Oct 13, 2011 07:38am

The comment to the final one answers the question BillyMac has been asking all summer.

COMMENT:
For a boundary-plane violation
warning to also be assessed, the
defender must actually violate the rule
and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-
19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)

ronny mulkey Thu Oct 13, 2011 08:26am

Consolidate?
 
Nevada,

I searched for posts and I saw where you or somebody had consolidated several years worth of interps. But, it appeared that it did not go back past 2009-10???? That might just have been on the post that I found.

I searched NFHS and did not find them there for last season, either. Do you have last year? Would you please post this year's and last year's? Or, add to the consolidated effort already started?

thanks

Mulk

bob jenkins Thu Oct 13, 2011 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronny mulkey (Post 793268)
Nevada,

I searched for posts and I saw where you or somebody had consolidated several years worth of interps. But, it appeared that it did not go back past 2009-10???? That might just have been on the post that I found.

I searched NFHS and did not find them there for last season, either. Do you have last year? Would you please post this year's and last year's? Or, add to the consolidated effort already started?

thanks

Mulk

Follow the link in post 4 of this thread. It has all the interps back to 1997 or so.

Raymond Thu Oct 13, 2011 09:35am

SITUATION 2: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal.

RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is
out of bounds and not located in the
frontcourt. (4-35-2; 9-7)


SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt.
The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball.

RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8)


SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand nd goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)


SITUATION 8: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball.

RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-ofbounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throwin at the spot nearest the foul.
COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)

bob jenkins Thu Oct 13, 2011 09:37am

I'm not trying to be a smart-***, but why did you post those two interps? They seem right to me. They are the same as the old rulings.

Raymond Thu Oct 13, 2011 09:50am

Well, I posted 4 ;) and 3 applied to the TC rule change. The other one I did b/c of a recent discussion. The other interps were inconsequential.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 13, 2011 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 793298)
RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control [/U]had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

Does the part in red also apply if player and team control has been established in the frontcourt, but the ball is deflected into the backcourt by a defender? Are we now saying that a new 10-second count doesn't start until player control is regained in the backcourt?

Raymond Thu Oct 13, 2011 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 793314)
Does the part in red also apply if player and team control has been established in the frontcourt, but the ball is deflected into the backcourt by a defender? Are we now saying that a new 10-second count doesn't start until player control is regained in the backcourt?

I don't know. I had the same question about about a throw-in that gets deflected into the backcourt since we now have TC on a throw-in but I guess this interp answers that while opening up a whole can worms for other deflection plays.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 13, 2011 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 793314)
Does the part in red also apply if player and team control has been established in the frontcourt, but the ball is deflected into the backcourt by a defender? Are we now saying that a new 10-second count doesn't start until player control is regained in the backcourt?

I'd say no. They mean "IN THIS PLAY the b/c count doesn't start ..."

Camron Rust Thu Oct 13, 2011 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 793258)
The comment to the final one answers the question BillyMac has been asking all summer.

COMMENT:
For a boundary-plane violation
warning to also be assessed, the
defender must actually violate the rule
and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-
19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)

So, said another way...

The rules about boundary plane violations and touching the ball while it is in the hands of the thrower are two distinct infractions and violating one does not imply or require that the other has occurred.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 13, 2011 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 793364)
I'd say no. They mean "IN THIS PLAY the b/c count doesn't start ..."

Agree. Some rules/cases don't actually mean what they appear to say when taken out of context. They could have done a LOT better job of wording the new rules to get the desired effect without having to establish a bunch of interpretative to except all of the unintended consequences.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 13, 2011 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 793364)
I'd say no. They mean "IN THIS PLAY the b/c count doesn't start ..."

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 793380)
Agree.

I agree, too. I just wanted somebody else's perspective.

Quote:

They could have done a LOT better job of wording the new rules to get the desired effect without having to establish a bunch of interpretative to except all of the unintended consequences.
Or. . . they could've just added this one particular play to the definition of team control fouls.

BillyMac Thu Oct 13, 2011 06:08pm

Closure ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 793258)
The comment to the final one answers the question BillyMac has been asking all summer.

COMMENT:
For a boundary-plane violation
warning to also be assessed, the
defender must actually violate the rule
and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-
19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)

Thanks for remembering my question. My local interpreter came back from the IAABO fall seminar and confirmed this for me a few weeks ago.

Camron Rust Thu Oct 13, 2011 07:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 793388)

Or. . . they could've just added this one particular play to the definition of team control fouls.

Then we'd be arguing about how you could have a "team control foul" while there was no team control.

Adam Thu Oct 13, 2011 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 793410)
Then we'd be arguing about how you could have a "team control foul" while there was no team control.

Maybe, but the disconnect would be much smaller.

Or change it to an "offensive" foul with the offense defined as either the team in control or the throw-in team until team control is established.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 13, 2011 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 793410)
Then we'd be arguing about how you could have a "team control foul" while there was no team control.

Well, you can have a player control foul when there's no player control.

Adam Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 793443)
Well, you can have a player control foul when there's no player control.

And an intentional foul without intent.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 14, 2011 01:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 793443)
Well, you can have a player control foul when there's no player control.

Maybe, but at least that one starts with player control while the player is airborne and just continues it until the player lands.

Nevadaref Fri Oct 14, 2011 02:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 793314)
Does the part in red also apply if player and team control has been established in the frontcourt, but the ball is deflected into the backcourt by a defender? Are we now saying that a new 10-second count doesn't start until player control is regained in the backcourt?

After reading that interp, I spent some time thinking about it. Sadly, the interp doesn't match up with the text of the rules book. :(
The interp tries to get around the issue by arguing that the team control takes place out of bounds, not in the frontcourt or the backcourt. However, once the ball touches a player or the floor in the backcourt, it gains backcourt status. So we do have team control and the ball in the backcourt. Per rule 9-8 that is all that is required and the count should start. There is no requirement that there actually be team control IN THE BACKCOURT. The interp from a couple of seasons ago made that very clear.
The NFHS kicked this one. They wanted way a 10-second count works to remain unchanged, but unfortunately they failed to craft a rule which allows that. So they issue another bogus interp which doesn't mesh with the text of the rules book. :mad:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 793388)
Or. . . they could've just added this one particular play to the definition of team control fouls.

I actually thought of an even simpler way of accomplishing what they desired. It doesn't involve changing a single definition of any kind.
My idea is to just alter the penalty section following 10-6. Item 1 lists five instances for which no free throws are awarded. They are labeled a through e. All the NFHS had to do was create an item f there.
The wording could have been "for any common foul during the time from the start of a throw-in until player control is established."

Yep, that's it. No changes to any rules or definitions. No complications with backcourt violations, three seconds, five seconds, or ten seconds. Just the elimination of FTs for fouls committed under those given circumstances. Why does the NFHS make this so hard? :confused:

Raymond Fri Oct 14, 2011 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 793472)
After reading that interp, I spent some time thinking about it. Sadly, the interp doesn't match up with the text of the rules book. :(
The interp tries to get around the issue by arguing that the team control takes place out of bounds, not in the frontcourt or the backcourt. However, once the ball touches a player or the floor in the backcourt, it gains backcourt status. So we do have team control and the ball in the backcourt. Per rule 9-8 that is all that is required and the count should start. There is no requirement that there actually be team control IN THE BACKCOURT. The interp from a couple of seasons ago made that very clear.
The NFHS kicked this one. They wanted way a 10-second count works to remain unchanged, but unfortunately they failed to craft a rule which allows that. So they issue another bogus interp which doesn't mesh with the text of the rules book. :mad:

...

I've been saying the bolded part since this subject came up waaaayyy back when and certain "esteemed members" kept insisting it wouldn't be an issue.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 793472)
I actually thought of an even simpler way of accomplishing what they desired. It doesn't involve changing a single definition of any kind.
My idea is to just alter the penalty section following 10-6. Item 1 lists five instances for which no free throws are awarded. They are labeled a through e. All the NFHS had to do was create an item f there.
The wording could have been "for any common foul during the time from the start of a throw-in until player control is established."

Brilliant! Nevada for the NFHS rules committee!!!

Note however, that would have the additional effect of having no FTs for defensive fouls during a throwin.

It is, however, still much cleaner.

Scrapper1 Fri Oct 14, 2011 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 793410)
Then we'd be arguing about how you could have a "team control foul" while there was no team control.

We don't argue about how you can have a player control foul while there's no player control. It's the exact same situation.

I should've read the whole thread before responding. I agree with both Snaq and Bob.

Nevadaref Fri Oct 14, 2011 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 793606)
Brilliant! Nevada for the NFHS rules committee!!!

Note however, that would have the additional effect of having no FTs for defensive fouls during a throwin.

It is, however, still much cleaner.

Excellent point about the defensive fouls. My suggested wording would have to be "for any common foul committed by a member of the throwing team during the time from the start of a throw-in until player control is established."

I am still happy with the concept. Revert to the 2010-11 rules and make this change to 10-6. Seems to solve all of the issues.

Scrapper1 Fri Oct 14, 2011 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 793683)
Excellent point about the defensive fouls. My suggested wording would have to be "for any common foul committed by a member of the throwing team during the time from the start of a throw-in until player control is established."

This is almost exactly the same wording I recommended in a previous thread when complaining about the change to the definition of team control.

Quote:

I am still happy with the concept. Revert to the 2010-11 rules and make this change to 10-6. Seems to solve all of the issues.
I would settle for this, but I still would like to see this common foul classified as something more specific than simply a non-shooting foul. I would prefer to see the wording that Nevada (and I) suggests added to the definition of "team control foul" and signaled with the punch.

But I agree 100% that we should simply remove ALL the changes that were made this year.

chseagle Fri Oct 14, 2011 08:06pm

In case no one has checked, NFHS has posted some 2011-2012 Basketball Rules Interpretations at: NFHS | 2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Raymond Fri Oct 14, 2011 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 793704)
In case no one has checked, NFHS has posted some 2011-2012 Basketball Rules Interpretations at: NFHS | 2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Did some of them look like this?:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 793298)
SITUATION 2: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal.

RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is
out of bounds and not located in the
frontcourt. (4-35-2; 9-7)


SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt.
The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball.

RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8)


SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand nd goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)


SITUATION 8: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball.

RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-ofbounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throwin at the spot nearest the foul.
COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)


APG Fri Oct 14, 2011 10:13pm

To be fair BNR, you didn't post all of them.

BillyMac Sat Oct 15, 2011 06:06am

The Whole Eight Yards ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 793722)
To be fair BNR, you didn't post all of them.

2011-12 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 1: The officials are on the court prior to the game observing the team warm-ups. One official notices that a member of Team A is wearing a decorative feather in the hair. RULING: The official should inform the team member and/or coach that the feather shall be removed immediately. Upon compliance, the team member may continue to warm up with his or her teammates and may start the game without penalty. (3-5-4e)

SITUATION 2: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the frontcourt. (4-35-2; 9-7)

SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second
rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8)

SITUATION 4: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free-throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team A’s backcourt untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

SITUATION 6: After a made basket by Team B, A1 steps out of bounds, secures the ball, then sets it down and runs (out of bounds) to the other side of the key. A2 then steps out of bounds, picks up the ball and bounce-passes it to A1, who then inbounds the ball down court to A3. RULING: Legal activity provided the administering official has not reached a five-second count. (7-5-7)

SITUATION 7: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and contacts the ball while it is in A1’s possession. RULING: A technical foul is assessed to B1. In addition to the technical foul, a throw-in boundary-plane warning is assessed and recorded since B1 actually penetrated the boundary-line plane before the throw-in pass was released. (4-47-1; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-3-10).

SITUATION 8: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1