![]() |
Quote:
OK, my take on the play was usually this will be a no call. The defender was well under the basket (I know, I know) and the contact was made well after the ball was released. Hard to see how B1 was disadvantaged, just hold the whistle & play on. BTW, I'm watching the UCONN-Texas womens game, there was just a beautiful PC foul called on Texas! Secondary defender came over to help on the drive to the basket, bang-bang contact, "that way!". Nice. I kinda think that fist thing the women's do is cool. |
Quote:
I was glad to see the Huskies win, since they're pretty local to me, but I thought the game was not very fun to watch. Very sloppy, tons of turnovers. But the thing that really got my attention was that it seemed like on 90% of the possessions, somebody ended up on the floor. It was like they couldn't keep their feet under them. I don't think anybody jumped more than about 8 inches off the floor all night. But the officials were excellent, and I mean that sincerely. Chuck |
Per Men's NCAA rules, a released shot followed by a PC foul will result in the shot being counted.
I think the big problem on this play (assuming we're talking the same one) was the TV angle - watching live, I nearly screamed at the TV that there was no foul. They finally showed a TV replay with the actual foul: http://web.syr.edu./~dphines/images/lg_warrick_all.jpg |
From the picture, the only part of the defender's body under the basket is the head. I would have to say, I think the PC call was in order, however, i thought the contact was before the release of the ball.
|
Great picture Mark, you must have had a nice seat.
|
Further, the NCAA/NBA interpretations regarding a position under the basket does not apply to baseline drives. The position under the basket in defending a baseline drive can indeed be a legal guarding position (even in the NBA) and can draw a charge. The offensive player my be attempting a reverse, in which case, the position under the basket is in the path to the basket where on a drive from the top of the key, the offensive player can not do a reverse from behind the backboard.
|
Quote:
In the NBA, the Restricted Area doesn't have anything to do with where the drive comes from. The rule is that a secondary defender cannot draw an offensive foul while standing in the RA. Notice that the primary defender CAN draw an offensive foul, even if inside the semi-circle. And even the secondary defender can draw the offensive foul if the play starts inside the lower defensive box (which is the lane, extended 2 feet on each side). Just throwin' it out there. Chuck |
I feel Picked on!!
Quote:
I see your point. The photo by Mark says a lot. If the rules state that legal guarding position is anywhere on the floor, your correct. However standing under the goal can get someone hurt!. I feel better now!! |
Quote:
|
Re: I feel Picked on!!
Quote:
Hell - a lot of things can get a lot of people hurt. Whether the defender is in front of or behind an imaginary line has no bearing on injuries. |
Hey Mark, great find on that picture! Yep, that's the play I'm talking about, yep it looked more like a no-call from the original TV angle, yep, I might have gone with the PC also if this was my view.
|
Re: Re: I feel Picked on!!
Quote:
I still don't understand how someone plays defense under the basket. The offensive player should have a place to come down, which is usually under the basket. I would never teach players to stand under the basket for defense. Suicide! |
Re: Re: Re: I feel Picked on!!
Quote:
Chuck |
Re: Re: Re: Re: I feel Picked on!!
Quote:
Gotcha! I watch a lot of NBA!! |
i still just want to know how that basket counted. i'd like to know how many times a scored dunk has been accompanied by a player control foul. still seems impossible to me.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am. |