The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   backcourt? from KY/MU (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/8082-backcourt-ky-mu.html)

Nevadaref Sat Mar 29, 2003 06:57pm

With about five minutes remaining in the first half a Kentucky player threw a pass that hit the rim and ricocheted near half court. Bogans grabbed the ball while standing near the division line. I could not tell if he stepped on it or not. If someone with TiVO or a VCR who taped the game could look at this and let us know I would be interested.
My belief is that if he did touch the line it is a backcourt violation because that was a pass not a try for goal that hit the rim.

Mark Padgett Sat Mar 29, 2003 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
.
My belief is that if he did touch the line it is a backcourt violation because that was a pass not a try for goal that hit the rim.

Yeah - try selling that, especially with a shot clock reset.

Nevadaref Sat Mar 29, 2003 07:17pm

Why did the shot clock reset? This clearly was not a shot. I also have no trouble "selling" a correct call.

Mark Padgett Sat Mar 29, 2003 11:52pm

Are you telling us that the shot clock operator didn't reset the shot clock when the ball hit the rim?

Nevadaref Sun Mar 30, 2003 12:44am

I don't know and I didn't tape the game, so I can't go check. Even if I had it, I doubt that the shot clock would be visible in the frame. If you see the play though, you'll agree it was a hard pass. If I were the shot clock operator, I wouldn't have reset it.

JeffTheRef Sun Mar 30, 2003 02:37am

Hey, when you airball that 3 and it goes
 
and it goes into the waiting (good) hands of the big man, you say "It was a pass!", right?

Similarly, if someone throws a pass and it hits the rim, it's a shot. Not kidding. It is a shot, by the power invested in me by Zeus . . . it's gotta be in the Casebook somewhere . . .

ChuckElias Sun Mar 30, 2003 09:05am

Re: Hey, when you airball that 3 and it goes
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
if someone throws a pass and it hits the rim, it's a shot.
No it's not. The rulebook is specific that the shot clock resets when a try for goal hits the rim. No kidding. ;)

Quote:

by the power invested in me by Zeus . . .
You handle Zeus' investments? What's in his portfolio? Most people are merely "vested" with power from some governing authority. :D

Chuck

JeffTheRef Sun Mar 30, 2003 12:31pm

I'm interested in the answer to this . . .
 
A try is a matter of intent, as in when a player has a power outage and catches his/her own shot. But, if the ball hits the rim . . . this is a matter for the Casebook indeed. Does it simply, automatically become a shot by virtue of having hit the rim. I seem to remember that it does. (The result overrides the inference . . .) Anybody KNOW?

BktBallRef Sun Mar 30, 2003 01:05pm

Yes, Chuck knows. He's already given you the answer. The shot clock resets when a shot hits the rim. It does not reset just becasue the ball hits the rim.

If you'll read below, you see a simliar post were the officials watched a replay and ruled a shot clock violation occurred even though the ball touched the rim because it was not a shot.

JeffTheRef Sun Mar 30, 2003 02:33pm

OK, BBall . . . true enough, if the ball
 
hits the rim as a result of loose-ballness (not a medical condition), etc., it's not a try, true enough. Hitting the rim is not automatically a shot. I am zee moron. I knew that. But there are hard cases, the alley oop is one. If someone oops it, the intended misses catching, and goes in, well, that's a goal. If it hits the basket, it's a judgement call? That's a tough one, especially when there are more and more guys flying at the basket willy-nilly all the time.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 30, 2003 02:43pm

Re: OK, BBall . . . true enough, if the ball
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
hits the rim as a result of loose-ballness (not a medical condition), etc., it's not a try, true enough. Hitting the rim is not automatically a shot. I am zee moron. I knew that. But there are hard cases, the alley oop is one. If someone oops it, the intended misses catching, and goes in, well, that's a goal. If it hits the basket, it's a judgement call? That's a tough one, especially when there are more and more guys flying at the basket willy-nilly all the time.
Yes, it's a judgment call. Who said that it wasn't? If a pass goes in the basket, it counts but IT STILL ISN'T A TRY. But if an alley oops pass simply hits the rim, the shot clock isn't reset. The rule is clear. And yes, it's a judgment that has to be made.

Jurassic Referee Sun Mar 30, 2003 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
hits the rim as a result of loose-ballness (not a medical condition),
Is Grape Nuts a venereal disease?

ChuckElias Sun Mar 30, 2003 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
hits the rim as a result of loose-ballness (not a medical condition),
Is Grape Nuts a venereal disease?

You couldn't just let it go, could you? ;)

Mark Padgett Sun Mar 30, 2003 05:23pm

Re: Re: OK, BBall . . . true enough, if the ball
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef

Yes, it's a judgment call. Who said that it wasn't? If a pass goes in the basket, it counts but IT STILL ISN'T A TRY. But if an alley oops pass simply hits the rim, the shot clock isn't reset. The rule is clear. And yes, it's a judgment that has to be made.

OK - try this one. A1 jumps and throws a pass that would have gone past the rim. As he lets go of the ball, he is fouled while still in the air and the ball goes in the hoop. What would you rule?

Nevadaref Sun Mar 30, 2003 05:28pm

By rule the ball is dead when the foul occurs. The player will only shoot free throws if the opponent is in the penalty.
That said, on the court this is really going to look like a shot. If it looks like a shot, I call it a shot and count it. We'll then shoot one.

In my post which started this thread, the pass clearly looked like a pass. It was fired on a line in the direction of the basket. And I still haven't heard from anyone, if Bogans touched the backcourt!

Jay R Sun Mar 30, 2003 09:24pm

I had taped the game, so I went and looked at it.

A Kentucky pass (alley oop) hit the rim and bounced towards the centre line. A KU player tried to save it in the front court but stepped on the centre line. His save (weak pass) landed in the back court. Therefore, the official could have called a backcourt violation for either infractions. He did not. A Syracuse player then retrieved the ball and play continued from there. It was impossible to see if the shot clock was reset when it hit the rim. As mentioned here, it should not have reset.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 30, 2003 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
A Kentucky pass (alley oop) hit the rim and bounced towards the centre line. A KU player tried to save it in the front court but stepped on the centre line. His save (weak pass) landed in the back court. Therefore, the official could have called a backcourt violation for either infractions.
Tossing the ball into the BC would not be a violation, unless he or a teammate then touched it there.

Mark Padgett Mon Mar 31, 2003 12:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
I had taped the game, so I went and looked at it.

A Kentucky pass (alley oop) hit the rim and bounced towards the centre line. A KU player tried to save it in the front court but stepped on the centre line. His save (weak pass) landed in the back court. Therefore, the official could have called a backcourt violation for either infractions.

Please name the two infractions.

Jay R Mon Mar 31, 2003 12:54pm

I stand corrected. Stepping on the line is a backcourt violation. But throwing it into the BC is not, I had not thought it through.

BTW, I did not want to criticize the official who did not make the BC call. I looked at it in slo-mo to determine that he stepped on the line to save the ball.

Camron Rust Mon Mar 31, 2003 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
I had taped the game, so I went and looked at it.

A Kentucky pass (alley oop) hit the rim and bounced towards the centre line. A KU player tried to save it in the front court but stepped on the centre line. His save (weak pass) landed in the back court. Therefore, the official could have called a backcourt violation for either infractions. He did not. A Syracuse player then retrieved the ball and play continued from there. It was impossible to see if the shot clock was reset when it hit the rim. As mentioned here, it should not have reset.

What I want to know is how players from 4 teams ended up on the court...;)

1. We've got a pass by a Kentucky player.

2. Kentucky played Marquette.

3. Then a Kansas (KU) player tries to save the ball before it goes into the backcourt.

4. Then from out of nowhere, a Syracuse player recovers the ball.

How did the refs miss this?

Isn't is a technical foul to have 4 teams on the court. If not, who would get the ball after a violation? ;)


Jay R Mon Mar 31, 2003 04:03pm

I'm getting massacred here. Sorry, not Syracuse but Marquette.

What is the abbreviation for Kentucky? UK?

Camron Rust Mon Mar 31, 2003 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
I'm getting massacred here. Sorry, not Syracuse but Marquette.

What is the abbreviation for Kentucky? UK?

I'm just having a little fun. ;)

I knew what you meant. I happen to be a Kentucky fan. Having a little fun since my team got soundly beaten. (And no, I'm not a bandwagon fan....born there...been a fan for most of my life).

Yes, University of Kentucky is UK while University of Kansas is KU. Guess they're dyslexic in Kansas.


[Edited by Camron Rust on Mar 31st, 2003 at 07:30 PM]

ChuckElias Mon Mar 31, 2003 08:26pm

Dyslexics of the world, untie!

Nevadaref Tue Apr 01, 2003 02:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
I had taped the game, so I went and looked at it.

A Kentucky pass (alley oop) hit the rim and bounced towards the centre line. A KU player tried to save it in the front court but stepped on the centre line. His save (weak pass) landed in the back court. Therefore, the official could have called a backcourt violation for either infractions. He did not. A Syracuse player then retrieved the ball and play continued from there. It was impossible to see if the shot clock was reset when it hit the rim. As mentioned here, it should not have reset.

Team typos aside, thank you for double checking. You have validated my starting this whole thread. Hopefully, there were a few people that learned that a backcourt violation can happen after the ball bounces off the rim!

PS The NCAA officials seem to be struggling with backcourt. Missed this one and called it erroneously in the TX/MS game.

dblref Tue Apr 01, 2003 07:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Dyslexics of the world, untie!
Is this also dyslexic: untie vs unite? No, wait that's Bosux language,:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1