The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 28, 2003, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
After made basket, A1 may run the baseline and retains that right if the scoring team commits a violation and the ensuing throw-in spot would be the endline. (Fed Rule 7-7)

Question: What if the defender legally hits the ball and it goes directly out of bounds on the baseline? May the team still run the baseline?

A fellow ref this morning said "causing the ball to go out of bounds" is a violation and the right to running the baseline remains. He cited Rule 9-3. The only case note refers to a kick violation. I said that once the ball is touched "legally" that the throw-in ends and that the resulting out-of-bounds would be a designated spot. I also promised to ask here for a "definitive ruling."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1