The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 26, 2003, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member

What is the NFHS rule regarding completing a game with fewer than five eligible players remaining?

Also, have any of you ever been in a situation like this, or heard of one. When I was a JV coach, I once finished a game with four players. We were down by seven points with about two minutes left when we went to four, and lost by three points!
Old Wed Mar 26, 2003, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to firedoc
A team may continue to play with less than 5 player as long as,in the opinion of the officials, they have SOME chance of winning. Obviously this is a very subjective opinion, but that is the rule (not verbatim). They must, however, have at least 5 players in order to begin the game.
Old Wed Mar 26, 2003, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member

firedoc's right. Here's the rule:
Rule 3.1.1 Note: A team must begin with five players, but if it has no substitutes to replace disqualified or injured players, it must continue with fewer than five. When there is only one player participating for a team, the team shall forfeit the game, unless the referee believes that team has an opportunity to win the gam.
a doubt the greatest game mankind has ever invented."
Arnold Palmer
Old Wed Mar 26, 2003, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member

Penn Coach, yes I have seen something even more bizarre than your experience as a J.V. coach and almost winning with only 3 players on the floor. And I will probably never see it again, but here goes.

The place: Central Idaho, two small schools (150 students or less in grades 9-12) competing in a girls JV game.