![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Catching Your one pass or shot
			 
			
			
			Hello, 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Summer quickly coming to an end..time to start thinking basketball again. Question: Player A picks up his dribble and releases ball in a shooting motion and the ball slips out of his hand. No deflection by Team B. Player A catches his own ball and dribbles again. Do we have a violation of illegal dribble? What happens if no second dribble and player A catches his own ball and attempts another shot? Thanks!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I gotta new attitude!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 -Josh  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			The OP said the player "releases ball in a shooting motion".  As has been said, if you deem it to be a shot attempt, end of story.  It's all up to your opinion.  That's why we get the big bucks.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Yom HaShoah  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Just to clarify..If it WAS NOT a shooting motion and instead a muff or passing motion..then we would have a violation if he dribbled or made a shot attempt?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 Fumble -- can recover but not dribble Pass -- can not recover (asuming the recovery involves movign the pivot foot)  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  
		
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			By rule, it can't be a shot attempt.  
		
		
		
		
		
		
			 
		
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			All I see in the definition of a shot is that the player is attempting to score 2 or 3 points.....I don't see anywhere that it says that have to be able to be successful.  
		
		
		
		
		
		
			So, I'm not sure that it can't be attempt, just that it can't be successful.  
		
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Airborne Player Catching a Pass | Spence | Basketball | 4 | Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:07am | 
| catching your own shot - need the rule | bbcowboy | Basketball | 3 | Mon Feb 11, 2008 03:25pm | 
| shot or pass | NorthSide | Basketball | 17 | Wed Jan 14, 2004 09:43am | 
| Catching your own shot (w/o hitting anything) | schwarze | Basketball | 9 | Wed Oct 29, 2003 09:10am | 
| catching own shot | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 2 | Sun Dec 23, 2001 04:56pm |