The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   players shoots in wrong basket and gets fouled (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/8003-players-shoots-wrong-basket-gets-fouled.html)

timharris Thu Mar 20, 2003 10:03pm

"a"=offense "b"=defense

hello,
craziest play i have ever encountered as a basketball official in 12 years on the hard wood. "a" has the ball for a throw in after a made basket by "b" on the baseline; for some odd reason when the ball was thrown in too "a1" she seem rattled by the double team instead of passing the ball she shoots it and gets fouled hard. i was the head referee; we counted the basket and went too the other end too shoot the 1 shot was this the corect administration?
thanks
tim harris


p.s. just wanna say thanks too all the guys and gals out their in the stripes for all the great answers; this site is by far one of the most informative on the internet today!!

mick Thu Mar 20, 2003 10:15pm

Oh, my !!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by timharris
"a"=offense "b"=defense

hello,
craziest play i have ever encountered as a basketball official in 12 years on the hard wood. "a" has the ball for a throw in after a made basket by "b" on the baseline; for some odd reason when the ball was thrown in too "a1" she seem rattled by the double team instead of passing the ball she shoots it and gets fouled hard. i was the head referee; we counted the basket and went too the other end too shoot the 1 shot was this the corect administration?
thanks
tim harris


p.s. just wanna say thanks too all the guys and gals out their in the stripes for all the great answers; this site is by far one of the most informative on the internet today!!

tim, tim, tim.
You made an Oweee!
Keep readin'. ;)

Blackhawk357 Thu Mar 20, 2003 11:21pm

OK Tim, I'll take a stab at it.

Given that the definition of a "try" by A1 includes the requirement that she is shooting at A's basket, this does not qualify as a "try'. That means the foul is not a shooting foul. Therefore, A1 either gets a 1&1, or a throw-in from the closest spot to the foul.

That said, score the basket for team B and administer the penalty for the common foul on A1 (which ever applies). Be sure that if you are in the bonus, A1 shoots the 1&1 at A's basket :)


Now, if someone doesn't beet me to the punch :D this will be the third post. Someone will have something to add regardless, I'm sure.

Blackhawk

mick Thu Mar 20, 2003 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Blackhawk357
OK Tim, I'll take a stab at it.

Given that the definition of a "try" by A1 includes the requirement that she is shooting at A's basket, this does not qualify as a "try'. That means the foul is not a shooting foul. Therefore, A1 either gets a 1&1, or a throw-in from the closest spot to the foul.

That said, score the basket for team B and administer the penalty for the common foul on A1 (which ever applies). Be sure that if you are in the bonus, A1 shoots the 1&1 at A's basket :)
Blackhawk

Great Start, Blackhawk.
But, like too many Blackhawks in Iraq, the landing made a mark.
<s>mick</s> dart thrower

Mark Padgett Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:41am

Since this went in the wrong basket, the ball would have to have been in the basket prior to the foul for the points to count. If not, the foul causes the ball to become dead and no points are scored. There is no continuation because this is not a try or tap.

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 21, 2003 03:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by Blackhawk357


That said, score the basket for team B and administer the penalty for the common foul on A1 (which ever applies). Be sure that if you are in the bonus, A1 shoots the 1&1 at A's basket

As MP said,you only score the basket if the ball has gone through before the foul by B1 occurs. Casebook play 4.40.2SIT covers it.

Blackhawk357 Fri Mar 21, 2003 05:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Since this went in the wrong basket, the ball would have to have been in the basket prior to the foul for the points to count. If not, the foul causes the ball to become dead and no points are scored. There is no continuation because this is not a try or tap.
Yep, no question.

ChuckElias Fri Mar 21, 2003 08:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Since this went in the wrong basket, the ball would have to have been in the basket prior to the foul for the points to count. If not, the foul causes the ball to become dead and no points are scored. There is no continuation because this is not a try or tap.
Padgett found his meds!! :D

bob jenkins Fri Mar 21, 2003 08:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Since this went in the wrong basket, the ball would have to have been in the basket prior to the foul for the points to count. If not, the foul causes the ball to become dead and no points are scored. There is no continuation because this is not a try or tap.
ANd, if the ball did go in first, the ball also becomes dead, so the foul won't happen (unless it's intentional or flagrant).

So, on this play, you'll (generally) either have points for B or a foul on B, but not both.

JeffTheRef Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:42pm

Shot in wrong basket
 
It's not a shot, even though the points are scored. It's a regular old foul, though.

JeffTheRef Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:51pm

Right you are about the Casebook reference . . .
 
What if . . . the ball goes through the basket . . . the ball is dead, is it not, with the clock running. If the foul occurs before the ball becomes alive, by virtue of being at the disposal player making the throw-in, what kind of a foul is a contact foul at that point?

mick Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:59pm

Re: Right you are about the Casebook reference . . .
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
What if . . . the ball goes through the basket . . . the ball is dead, is it not, with the clock running. If the foul occurs before the ball becomes alive, by virtue of being at the disposal player making the throw-in, what kind of a foul is a contact foul at that point?
JeffTheRef,
I've got three choices: <li>intentional,<li>flagrant,<li>incidental contact.

If there is any thought required at all, I'll have incidental contact.

mick

JeffTheRef Fri Mar 21, 2003 02:19pm

Dead ball contact
 
Mick: I agree. It's just one of the first 2000 situations it's nice to have thought through in advance, eh?

mick Fri Mar 21, 2003 03:52pm

Re: Dead ball contact
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
It's just one of the first 2000 situations it's nice to have thought through in advance, eh?
Often there is a lot of contact after a basket as one team is hurrying down the floor, some players are running after the ball to throw it in and the others are trying to find their man.
We know there's gonna be some bumping, but we don't wanna allow crashin' and mashin'.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1