![]() |
Just got finished watching the NCSU-Cal game. For those of you who didn't see the game, with 34 seconds left in overtime, the thrower-in was called for a spot throw-in violation. I watched the play again on TiVo, and Cliff Crawford (the thrower-in) did move on the baseline to his right, but his left foot didn't move further that where his right foot started (so still inside of the 3-foot 'box'). Do both feet have to be inside of the 3-foot box during the spot throw-in according to NCAA rules? Is this different from high school rules?
|
I saw the play and thought the player was within the 3 foot box, even though the announcers applauded the call, and Sendek didn't say boo. It's amazing how many people think that you can travel on that play. In fact, the official used the traveling signal to indicate the violation. I thought it was a crucial mistake, although NC State still had their chances after that.
|
Quote:
2) Does this guy get in big trouble with his super for a)getting the call wrong, b)using the wrong signal? Okay, okay, three questions... |
The use of the "travelling" signal in this type of situation has never been an approved signal in either FED or NCAA,as far as I know.That said,you never know whether the offical has had a conference supervisor that has instructed him to use that signal in those OOB situations where a spot violation occurs.
I would imagine that the call will be reviewed by whoever is deciding which officials go on to the next round.If the call was wrong,it could affect that official's chances of advancing.If the call was right,but the signal was wrong,it shouldn't affect his chance of advancing as much as a blown call would. |
I don't remember if I came from the state office or not, but in the late 80's or early 90's we were instructed to use the traveling signal in this case. As I remember, the very next year they came back and instructed us NOT to use it anymore. They said that it was to confusing. ~ Go figure.
|
3-foot box
Ok, I looked up the rules last night in both rulebooks.
Here's what they say. For those of you with books handy, I've referenced the rules below: NCAA: Rule 9-2.4 Art. 1 says that the thrower-in shall not a.) Leave a designated spot. Definition of a designated spot: Rule 4-15 A designated spot shall be 3 feet wide with no depth limitaion. The NFHS Rule Book essentially reads the same (Rule 7-6 Art.2) as the NCAA rule. The definition of the designated throw-in spot has a note included. Rule 4-41 Art. 6 NOTE: "The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released. Pivot-foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in." I know that the traveling siganl was wrong (and therefore confuses the aveage fan, coach, and announcer.) So, I guess the question is, since the NCAA Rulebook doesn't have the 'NOTE', does the thrower-in have to keep both feet in the box? (There aren't any mentions in the handy 'rule differences' charts in that can be found in the back of the NFHS Rules book or the CCA Officiating Manual.) |
I saw the call and was/am sick about it, imo, it was hoooorrrribbbllle. I don't care as much about the signal even though I refuse to use it, it does communicate to everybody what the call is. I just think in that situation in the game, it was a very debatable call that essentially cost NC State the game, I would guess the official would dearly love to have that call back, jmho.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Yes, but...
Quote:
The question that I still have is, do both feet have to be inside of this 3-foot area? Or, is one sufficient, as it is according to NFHS rules? |
Re: Yes, but...
Quote:
Try looking at TiVo again and see if he took the ball where the official was pointing, or did the player totally ignore the point and was 4' from the official's spot. :) |
TiVo
The throw-in was after a kicking violation which occurred in the lane on the defense, after which they changed the side of the throw-in. The official placed himslef between the backboard and the player, which meant that the spot was well outside of the lane. I guess that's a long way of saying that he did not ignore the spot.
|
Re: TiVo
Quote:
(<I>...Wish I had seen it.</i>) |
Spot
I'm saying that the spot that the referee led the thrower-in to was observed by the player. The referee was standing at the edge of the lane with the player on the outside of him. I think he took up more than 18". So yeah, the referee was probably standing where the spot could/should have been.
|
No travel signal needed
I was challenged on this issue back in the
early 80s, so I wrote to REFEREEE Magazine. The response I got was that even though it is not really a travelling violation, the signal does communicate that a violation for moving had occurred. I didn't buy the explanation then, and I still don't agree with it. Use a signal similar to a 3 seconds violation by pointing to the spot and moving your arm sideways. I make sure to verbalize "SPOT VIOLATION". It is not illegal to move one or both feet on a throw-in! There is no pivot foot restriction. How can it possibly be called travelling ? |
This was my morning game for regional coverage, so I saw the play on TV as it happened. I do not have TiVo and did not record the game as it was shown on ESPN (old VCR problem won't go up that high in channels). So my opinions are from what I saw one time at live action speed.
I do not believe that the player moved in excess of the three foot spot. My opinion is that the NC State player still had his left foot on or over the throw-in spot as he moved to the right. I think the official got a bit excited and jumped on something that wasn't there. The official who made this call was Patrick Driscoll. I'm not positive on the spelling of his name. I noticed him more than the call because, as others have said, he used the travel signal for the violation. As we all know that is incorrect too. I wrote an earlier post on this exact situation during the season which led to a lengthy debate about Div I officials and their rules knowledge. We cited many reasons why this signal is confusing or adds to the misinformation that most spectators have about the game. So this is the second Div I official I have seen THIS SEASON call a travel during a throw-in. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59pm. |