Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. |
Thu Sep 01, 2011 09:01am |
For some reason I could not get the video to play on the full screen so I had to watch it on the small screen. That said, first, the definitions of guarding and screening for NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA are identical with the only deference being that the NFHS rules use the word "obtain" when defining a LGP and the NCAA and FIBA rules use the word "establish" which the NFHS use to use also. And every FIBA Casebook Play that I have read regarding legal and illegal contact during guarding and screening situations are consistent with NFHS and NCAA rulings.
Second, as I watched the video I observed the play as if I was the L. From that perspective W1 (the player to the L's left) established a LGP, but W2 (the player to the L's right) did not establish his position on the court until after B1 went airborne, AND it appeared to me that B1 made contact with W2 before making any contact with W1. Therefore W2 committed a blocking foul.
MTD, Sr.
P.S. And I am not making my decision based upon the fact that B1 is wearing the Royal Blue color of the Royal Family of the Kingdom of Italy, :D.
|