The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 12, 2003, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member

Hello,

As my login name applies, I am in my first year as a basketball ref. I have officiated for a few youth leagues, and for the intramural games at my college.

I had a situation in the intramural tournament that I would like to see how some of you would have handled it.

Situation: Team A is leading by more than 10 points with 3 minutes to go in the game. I have called a technical foul on B1 for innapropriate language/direct verbal attack on me. The overall attititude on team B is horrible.

Later in the game, with 30 seconds to play, team A is obviously going to win (10+ point spread). B2 is shooting free throws. B1 and B3 refuse to line up in an appropriate position. (they do this to get under my skin...) B1 again makes a direct verbal attack on me, I give him his second Technical, and he is ejected. The game has fallen apart. B3 continues his illegal position for free throws.

Thanks,

Nathan
Old Wed Mar 12, 2003, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by firstyearref
B2 is shooting free throws. B1 and B3 refuse to line up in an appropriate position. (they do this to get under my skin...) B1 again makes a direct verbal attack on me, I give him his second Technical, and he is ejected. The game has fallen apart. B3 continues his illegal position for free throws.
Nathan,

First, welcome to the board. Glad to have you.

Second, I'm also glad that you assessed the technical fouls for inappropriate comments. Too many first year guys are gunshy about giving technical fouls and just take the abuse, which they shouldn't have to do.