The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 30, 2000, 03:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 18
Wink

Hmmm..shouldn"t ally-opps and slam dunks be offensive basket interference calls..You got ball in cylinder area w/hand or hands touching ball and or rim ?????
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 30, 2000, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 24
Post

Steve - In the Rulebook it explains that hands in the cyclinder for a dunk are OK and not BI. Forget where it's said. Check the definition of BI.

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 30, 2000, 11:38am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

quote:
Originally posted by John Crow:
Steve - In the Rulebook it explains that hands in the cyclinder for a dunk are OK and not BI. Forget where it's said. Check the definition of BI.




There's a difference in this rule exception between a dunk and an alley-oop. If the player in control is dunking, he may have his hand in the cylinder. But if a different player has his hand in the cylinder and touches the ball while it is in there on a pass or shot attempt, it is BI.

Yeah - I know most of us don't recognize that there can be a pass into the cylinder.

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2000, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 38
Post

Speaking about a legal try,A1 gets confused and shoots at B's basket,the shot meets all of the criteria for GT, B1 slaps the ball away. Do you count the score?

What if the ball was in the cylinder?Joey,GA
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2000, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 9
Post

No GT because no try.

In the cylinder, I think you have OFFENSIVE BI, and the ball goes back to the guy shooting at the wrong hoop.

Who's more foolish, the fool or the fool who tries to block his shot . . .
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2000, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
Post

In order for it to be goal tending it must be
a try. shooting at the wrong basket is not a try...no violation

For basket interference the ball must be on
above or in the cylinder and it doesn't matter how it gets there. If BI is caused by the team whose basket the ball was shot at erroneously the ball is awarded OOB on the endline and no points scored. If BI on the errant shooters team award 2 points(even if behind the 3 pt line)
and give ball back to this team OOB at end line.....


------------------
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 10, 2000, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 70
Post

I agree with Walter. We can't know intent. We only judge actions and their results. This is a 3!!! Take Walter's second example another way. A1 has a spot throw in from out of bounds and attempts alley op to A2. B1 is first to touch ball while in the cylinder. What's the call???
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 11, 2000, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
Post

BI on Tean B. A live ball touch in the cylinder is BI. It doesn't matter how the ball got there. The trick comes in the ruling and penalty. Score two points for team A, team B's ball out of bounds on the endline, team B can run the endline for the throw-in. Only difference is that the official shall place the ball at B's disposal. Same in NCAA and NFHS. NCAA Rules Interpretations 9-15-2, NFHS casebook 9.11.2C.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 23, 2000, 05:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 176
Post

Now i can see if the offensive is in a half court set and the ball goes in. That would be easy to solve, just give them three. However what would happen if the ally pass was on the fast break and was thrown from the center line. Kinda hard to say that it was an attempt.
Another situation...offensive player tries to saves the ball from going out of bounds by throwing the ball over their head with back to hoop. Ball goes in. 2 or 3 ?

Use your judgement and the rules. An ally oop is a pass, simple if the ball goes in by accident award 2 if a shot award 3. Simply.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2000, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 12
Post

“Who are we to judge intent?”

We are the officials, and it’s our job. The difference between hard contact that draws a foul and punch that draws an ejection is intent. The difference between slamming a ball in frustration of poor play that draws a warning and slamming a ball in protest of a call that draws a technical is intent. The difference between grabbing the rim to prevent coming down on a poorly positioned defender and grabbing the rim to show up the defender is intent. Whether you like it or not, every time you call any fowl “in the act of shooting”, you are calling intent. Indeed, there is a rule called “intentional fowling”, which by definition requires the interpretation of intent as the name implies.

In the case of the ally-oop that goes in, if the player watching his teammate cut to the basket, is flat-footed as he throws the ball, and throws the ball like someone making pass rather than a shot, and then gives you that “oh looky what I found” after it goes in, he gets two. Any ref who doesn’t call it that way is too timid or too lazy to explain it to the coach and is hoping that the other coach doesn’t know the rule well enough to object.

Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 05, 2000, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Post

I for one will count it a three. You may be the best official in the country, but i don't think you will be working in many leagues when you start calling two points for that type of play. There are many plays in a game that we make judgement. If I'm going to pick a battle, it won't be over calling it a two.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 10, 2000, 03:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 176
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson:
I for one will count it a three. You may be the best official in the country, but i don't think you will be working in many leagues when you start calling two points for that type of play. There are many plays in a game that we make judgement. If I'm going to pick a battle, it won't be over calling it a two.


If you don't your are picking the battle, except for it will be with the coach that knows it's a two and you call it a three. Go with the rule, that's your back up, don't use your judgement and then decide to go against the rule. Alot of coaches know the rules, be careful.
keep smiling
SH

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1