The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   opening tip (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/781-opening-tip.html)

BktBallRef Sun Sep 03, 2000 05:20pm

Evidently they disagree on this one. As was stated above:

If A1 catches the ball, NF rule interpretation is that control was established, and then the violation. NF Case 6.3.1C(d)

Same play, NCAA interpretation is that the violation occurred before the possession.
NCAA Interpretation 6.2.5

My question is, if it's a violation for the jumper to possess the ball, then how can the violation occur prior to the possession?

That's a contradiction.

hoopsrefBC Mon Sep 04, 2000 01:40pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BktBallRef:
Evidently they disagree on this one. As was stated above:

If A1 catches the ball, NF rule interpretation is that control was established, and then the violation. NF Case 6.3.1C(d)

Same play, NCAA interpretation is that the violation occurred before the possession.
NCAA Interpretation 6.2.5

My question is, if it's a violation for the jumper to possess the ball, then how can the violation occur prior to the possession?

That's a contradiction.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The violation isn't in the possession of the ball, it's the touching of the ball with two hands. Everyone can argue what came first the chicken or the egg.


There are other situations where the jumper commits a violation, before gaining possession.(tipping a legal throwen jump ball more than twice.) What would you do in this situation.?
keep similing
SH


mick Mon Sep 04, 2000 03:06pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by hoopsrefBC:
The violation isn't in the possession of the ball, it's the touching of the ball with two hands. Everyone can argue what came first the chicken or the egg.


There are other situations where the jumper commits a violation, before gaining possession.(tipping a legal throwen jump ball more than twice.) What would you do in this situation.?
keep similing
SH

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'll let a jumper tip the ball more than twice every game.
mick



[This message has been edited by mick (edited September 04, 2000).]

joselirizarry Mon Sep 04, 2000 05:36pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by walter:
The answer depends upon what rules you're playing under. NCAA the jumper A1 has controlled the ball illegally. Therefore, B gets the ball for a throw-in (first legally established control) but as soon as the throw-in ends, the arrow is pointed toward Team A (Rule 6-2, BI 6-2-5). However, under NFHS, casebook play 6.1.3C(D), team B gets the throw-in because of the violation AND gets the arrow because control was established when jumper A1 caught the ball.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Jump Ball To Start The Game
High School NFHS
Following the jump between A1 and B1 to start the first quarter,the jump ball (d) is caught by A1.
Ruling: Team B will have a throw-in because of the violation and also the arrow for the first alternating-possession throw-in as A1 had control when he/she caught the ball.

------------------

Allways trying to get better!

joselirizarry Mon Sep 04, 2000 05:40pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by walter:
The answer depends upon what rules you're playing under. NCAA the jumper A1 has controlled the ball illegally. Therefore, B gets the ball for a throw-in (first legally established control) but as soon as the throw-in ends, the arrow is pointed toward Team A (Rule 6-2, BI 6-2-5). However, under NFHS, casebook play 6.1.3C(D), team B gets the throw-in because of the violation AND gets the arrow because control was established when jumper A1 caught the ball.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


hoopsrefBC Tue Sep 05, 2000 09:17pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mick:
I'll let a jumper tip the ball more than twice every game.
mick

[This message has been edited by mick (edited September 04, 2000).]
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hey mick i might be wrong, but as far as i know in every set of rules a jumper is only allowed to tip the ball twice in a row on an opening time. On the third consecutive contact it becomes a violation. FIBA, and NCAA rules are the same, i'm not to familiar with NFHS, so they might have it different.

Thanks
keep smiling
SH




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1