The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 04, 2003, 11:39am
PP PP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 74
In a high school boys playoff game last night(NF rules Mark) 6.7 sec left, 1 point game, A1 leaps from his backcourt to save the ball from going OOB. As he gets the ball, he calls, yells for a time out. The ball is in his hands and very close to his chest. The referee refuses to grant the time out. The coach of team A is not happy. (of course) The referee explains to the coach of team A that A1 did not have control of the ball. The coach explains to the referee that A1 had control since the ball was in his hands and close to his chest and that he was still up in the air. Was the referee correct to refuse the time out considering the location of the ball and the time left on the clock and a 1 point game ? Is this referee being a little to technical on what is having possession of the ball? Now what do you consider is having control of the ball?
__________________
Ontario, Canada
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1