The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 27, 2003, 05:48pm
Tee Tee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 58
Exclamation

Here is the situation- A1 shoots, A2 rebounds with one hand, off balance, throws ball high in the air, into the backcourt, where it is recovered by A3.

Obviously there is no team control during shot, but at what point is team control re-established?

A2 had the ball very briefly, but I tend towards saying he had control or he would not have been able to direct it so strongly. On the other hand if he had control he could have passed it to a team mate. It was very close.

I am avoiding the point that he may have been over the plane of the end line to keep it simple, but I know (or think I know) that changes the situation.

How about if it were a controlled tip- (think volleyball spike)

The other problem in calling this one is that I was trail and ball was heaved from deep in the opposite corner- way out of my area of responsibility(much less vision).

I did not make the call, and allowed play to continue, as I had no definate knowledge of possesion. I did see the offensive player was the person who threw it, but it was just out of the corner of my eye.

Can the lead make the call? What is the common sense answer here? This was a adult rec leauge and no one objected to my no call...

If this were to occur in a school game and the coach is demanding a call, I want to know the answer.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1