![]() |
Quote:
If you still deem it a try, I'll side with MN 3 Sport Ref. Either way there is no basket. Mregor |
Correct. It's no different than the original post. In both cases, the foul by an opponent caused the player to grasp the rim and the BI ensues.
|
I had a very senior official tell me one time "be right but don't be dead right!" Dead reight is calling the foul and the basket interference. But remember advantage/disadvantage the Tower principle... the bottom line is the right thing is to call the foul and let the basket interference go. The offensive player pushed causing a disadvantage forcing the basket interference. The best officials want to be right but not dead right. I am still learning that prinicple every game even after 25 years of officiating.
|
Not calling the BI is not right. It's dead wrong.
A player attempting to rebound, pushed from behind, does not have to grab the net or rim to protect himself. |
I think that we're missing the point here. In most BI cases the ball would go in the basket anyway. So who is being put at a disadvantage by calling the BI? I say the basket would have gone had there been no BI so counting the basket has no bearing on advantage/disadvantage. In this situation we count the basket and penalize the foul by ball OOB or bonus free throws shot.
|
It's nice to have little sayings like "be right, but not dead right." But also remember that if you stick to the rule book, you can be supported and defended.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm. |