The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt and an interrupted dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/76501-backcourt-interrupted-dribble.html)

Rob1968 Tue Aug 02, 2011 02:40am

Backcourt and an interrupted dribble
 
A1 dribbling, advancing from backcourt to frontcourt, left foot in backcourt, right foot in frontcourt, dribbling the ball in the frontcourt, misses a dribble for two bounces of the ball, then regains dribble control of the ball with the right hand, with the same foot positions, and dribbling the ball in the frontcourt.
Thinking of 4-4-6, ball location during a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, and 4-4-1 and 2, it seems like the call could be a backcourt violation, as the ball, during the two non-dribbled bounces, had obtained frontcourt status. However, the wording in Case Book 4.15.4 D RULING (b) cast doubt on whether the dribble had ended, and might lead one to think that 4-4-6 applies, and therefore a backcourt violation had not occurred.
The play looked, and seemed odd. I called a backcourt violation. Please, give me some opinions.

Thanks,
Rob1968

BillyMac Tue Aug 02, 2011 06:27am

The Left Foot Is the Key ...
 
In order for a dribbler to obtain frontcourt status, the ball, and both feet, must obtain frontcourt status. From the description of the play, it doesn't sound like the left foot ever obtained frontcourt status, thus, no backcourt violation. Also, I believe that the dribble didn't end, it was just interrupted.

Raymond Tue Aug 02, 2011 07:19am

"interrupted dribble"--seems to me that the dribble has not ended.

Rob1968 Tue Aug 02, 2011 09:39am

I must be over-thinking . . .again
 
So, if the dribble hasn't ended, and was just interrupted, the 10-second count would continue. (This wasn't a factor in the play, but is a thought that occurred during my searching for rule support for a correct ruling.) It seems that the two unattended bounces could establish frontcourt status for the ball, similar to Case Book 9.8 situation B. 4-12-1 indicates that there is no player control, during the interrupted dribble, and 4-12-2 c indicates that there is team control, during the interrupted dribble, and 9-9-1 could be involved, thius causing a backcourt violation. Comments?

Camron Rust Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:32am

A player is not dribbling and is not a dribbler during an interrupted dribble.

The OOB rules establish that concept....the ball is OOB if a dribbler steps OOB during the dribble even if they don't actually touch the ball while they are OOB. But, if it is an interrupted dribble, the ball is not OOB as long as the player returns inbounds before resuming the dribble.

When the dribble is interrupted, the player is no longer dribbling and is not a dribbler. They may resume dribbling, but they are not currently dribbling.

Additionally, they can not commit a player control foul during an interrupted dribble. As of the last few years, they can commit a team control foul which makes the result the same but the point is that they are not, by definition, dribbling if the dribble is interrupted and are not a dribbler during the interruption. If they were, it would have been a PC foul.

The 3-points rule exists to allow a player who is continuously dribbling the freedom to not worry about their specific foot/ball movement when they are near and/or crossing the line....they have to be fully across to be considered across.

All that said, one or two extra bounces doesn't mean the dribble is interrupted. There is nothing in the dribble rule that says the player must touch the ball between every bounce...even if they try but miss. An interrupted dribble is one where the ball gets away from the player. Did they have to move to go get the ball or did they just miss the dribble and continue after a whiff at the ball? I wouldn't call it an interrupted dribble unless they had to chase down the ball.


My conclusion....If it was an interrupted dribble (and it may not have been), they do not have protection of the 3-points rule and it is a backcourt violation when they again touch the ball.

tref Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:40am

This is good for discussion!
I guess the only question that matters here is, is a dribbler still considered a dribbler during an interupted dribble?

Theres no player control during this situation so the ball now has f/c status, he regains control but with a foot in the b/c... violation :confused:

*I hate when they goof up near the division line*


NEVERMIND Camron cleared that up!!

BillyMac Tue Aug 02, 2011 06:42pm

I Hear You Brother ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 777261)
I hate when they goof up near the division line.

Amen. Silly kids.

Nevadaref Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 777260)
A player is not dribbling and is not a dribbler during an interrupted dribble.

The OOB rules establish that concept....the ball is OOB if a dribbler steps OOB during the dribble even if they don't actually touch the ball while they are OOB. But, if it is an interrupted dribble, the ball is not OOB as long as the player returns inbounds before resuming the dribble.

When the dribble is interrupted, the player is no longer dribbling and is not a dribbler. They may resume dribbling, but they are not currently dribbling.

Additionally, they can not commit a player control foul during an interrupted dribble. As of the last few years, they can commit a team control foul which makes the result the same but the point is that they are not, by definition, dribbling if the dribble is interrupted and are not a dribbler during the interruption. If they were, it would have been a PC foul.

The 3-points rule exists to allow a player who is continuously dribbling the freedom to not worry about their specific foot/ball movement when they are near and/or crossing the line....they have to be fully across to be considered across.

All that said, one or two extra bounces doesn't mean the dribble is interrupted. There is nothing in the dribble rule that says the player must touch the ball between every bounce...even if they try but miss. An interrupted dribble is one where the ball gets away from the player. Did they have to move to go get the ball or did they just miss the dribble and continue after a whiff at the ball? I wouldn't call it an interrupted dribble unless they had to chase down the ball.


My conclusion....If it was an interrupted dribble (and it may not have been), they do not have protection of the 3-points rule and it is a backcourt violation when they again touch the ball.

I agree with the above.

BktBallRef Tue Aug 09, 2011 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 777261)
I guess the only question that matters here is, is a dribbler still considered a dribbler during an interupted dribble?

The only question that matter is "Was it an interrupted dribble or not?"

I believe I would try to give the player the benefit of doubt and rule that it wasn't an interrupted dribble.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1