The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2003, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Here's an easy way to think of this play....

The big question is "who violated?" When you change the play a little, it becomes very clear.

What if, instead of A2, it had actually been B2 that touched/caught the ball with one foot OOB? Would this be a violation on A1 giving the ball to B? No, it is the player who catches/touches the ball while OOB who has violated.

If it were the thrower, B would only need to get a foot OOB and touch the ball to force a violation on the thrower. Of course, this is NOT the intent...to give a team the ball for touching it OOB.

Violation on the receiver of the pass, not the thrower. The throwin spot is the spot where the ball is touched OOB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1