Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
The only time the arrow DOESN'T change is on a foul by either team before the throw-in is completed. A violation by the throw-in team does change the arrow, and, of course, the team on defense can't violate. If the defense catches the inbounds pass, the arrow does change.
|
Technically, it's only a throw-in violation that causes the team to lose the arrow. A violation that is not a throw-in violation would result in no change of arrow. (NCAA Rule 6-3.2. The direction of the alternating-possession arrow shall be reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in shall end when the throw-in ends (Rule 4-64.5) or when the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.)
So if A1 is the thrower-in and releases the ball into the court and the first thing that happens is B1 intentionally kicks the ball, I think we'd have a violation with no change of arrow, because in NCAA Rule 4-64.5 it tells us that the throw-in doesn't end until "the passed ball touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player other than the thrower-in." (Bad English here---it should probably say "legally touches or is touched.")
What if the first touch on the court is by someone who has a foot on an out of bounds line? Does that count as a legal touch? I think so, since in NCAA Rule 9-4.1 we're told that "[t]he thrower-in shall not...[f]ail to pass the ball directly into the playing court so that after it crosses the boundary line, it touches or is touched by another player (in bounds or out of bounds) on the playing court before going out of bounds." (They really should put the word "legally" in here to make it jibe with the statement in Rule 4.)
Can someone with a Fed rulebook let us know if things are the same or different?
Can anyone else come up with a violation that can happen before the throw-in ends that is not a throw-in violation? (Excessive elbow swinging without contact? Nah, that'd never happen...)