![]() |
Re: Question.
Quote:
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 16th, 2003 at 07:03 PM] |
Re: Question.
Quote:
What do you still not understand? |
Quote:
Is the rebound by B1 considered the Change of Possession needed to use the old method of correction? Maybe someone can find this situation in the Case Book. Thanks, Blackhawk |
I answered that three hours ago,Blackhawk.
Am I the Invisible Man today?:D |
Blackhawk, Jurassic and I both answered your question immediately after your post.
|
Quote:
If the error is handing the shooter the ball and saying "1&1", then it's easy, COP. But if the error occurs when A1 is not given the second shot, has the COP occurred after the error or before? Since there is no team control on a try, is the rebound by B1 really a COP if the error is not giving the A1 the second shot? The problem is probably my inability to effectively articulate the question. Blackhawk |
Quote:
OK now? [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 16th, 2003 at 09:16 PM] |
Here is my original post:
OK, I think we got this one figured out. Here is another question: Turn the situation around..... You tell the players it's 1&1 when it should be 2. If B rebounds the ball, is that considered a change of possession for the purpose of deciding which correction procedure you will use in the correction? (i.e. Stop play, clear lane, shoot, resume play vs. line 'um up and shoot) What if A rebounds? ~ In both, error is recognized within time restrictions. I'll give my opinion after some discussion. Blackhawk Quote:
It was a question brought up in a tournament last weekend. Basically "Did a COP happen?", and the correct answer is yes. As JR (finally) said "Anytime the Non-FT shooting team has possession" you go to the POI correction procedure. The game officials lined 'em up under the new rule, thinking a COP had not occurred, and did not understand my explaination as to why they were wrong. (Maybe for the same reason I had such a hard time explaining the question here.) Blackhawk |
Re: Re: Question.
Quote:
I can assume that you do not know the answer to this, but you seemed to want to throw your hat in this. Peace |
Re: Re: Re: Question.
Quote:
|
Re: Re: Re: Answer
Quote:
I can assume that you do not know the answer to this, but you seemed to want to throw your hat in this. [/B][/QUOTE]Not one thing that you just posted above is relevant at all to the original post.Not one thing that you wrote above matters in the least to the way that the play is handled according to the RULES! It is all completely irrelevant.If you think that it is relevant,please tell me exactly why it is,and cite some rules-any rules-to support your reasoning. You stated that this was a correctible error.Please give me a rules citation that will back up that claim.You also said that there was no casebook play covering this situation.A casebook play has been quoted verbatim to you.Again,if you intend to dispute that casebook play,please tell us why,and also post a rules citation that will back up your reasoning. In other words,Rut,please spell out exactly why Tony and I were wrong on this play,and your answer was correct! |
Quote:
As JR (finally) said "Anytime the Non-FT shooting team has possession" you go to the POI correction procedure. [/QUOTE]"Finally said"? Geeze,Blackhawk,I posted the 2 sentences above in my initial response to your question five hours ago.:D |
Quote:
JR~ The answer to the question I was TRYING to ask in not in this quote. We all know the difference between a POI correction and a "line 'um up" correction, and how a COP effects the decision. My question was weather or not the rebound by B1 constituted the COP needed to use the POI correction procedure. The game official's ruling was that the error occurred when they did not award the second throw, at the same time B1 rebounded the first throw. Therefore, the COP did not happen after the error, and he used the "line 'um up" procedure. Your argument of "Anytime the non-FT shooting team has possession" was the argument I used with the game official. So we agree, :) and they should have used the POI procedure. Hopefully I was able to articulate my question finally. Sorry for the confusion. Blackhawk |
Re: Re: Re: Re: Question.
Quote:
Was I talking to you? Peace |
Was I talking to you too?
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10am. |