![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I was watching the Louisville-Marquette game today and had a question about whether a play should have been called over-and-back.  The Marquette player was advancing the ball up the floor while still in the backcourt, he then passed to a teammate who jumped from the front court, caught the ball in mid-air and landed in the backcourt.  Is this a violation?  I say no, but I need someone to back me up. 
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
			
			You won't find anybody here to do so.  You are wrong, buddy. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			Remember this saying - it pertains to "airborne" players: You are where you were until you get to where you're going. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Yom HaShoah  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Ohboy...ohref
			 
			
			
			If you're really a masochist and want a headache -- as well as an education in the subject, go here (courtesy of BktBallRef): 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...?threadid=7343 Alternatively, hit the search icon, enter "backcourt" and read the threads until your eyes glaze over. ![]() Sven  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Not a violation, here's why...
			 
			
			
			Actually, I happened to see the play live, and it went like so:  A1 in backcourt, running end line after made basket, throws to A2.  A2 jumps from frontcourt to catch ball, lands in backcourt.  It wasn't called a violation which is correct. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Mark's "thing to remember" is a very good one. However, I think the more appropriate thing here is 9.9.2, exception 1: EXCEPTION 1: It is not a violation when after a jump ball or a throw-in, a player is the first to secure control of the ball while both feet are off the floor and he/she then returns to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. Now, here's a quiz for you: Say the same play occurred but A1 had already passed the ball inbounds to A2, so the throw-in was over. Now what's your call?  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Re: Not a violation, here's why...
			 
			Quote: 
	
 The play you described in your initial comment is different that the original post. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			There is one other exception to this rule. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			It is not a BC violation if, during a pass from A1, B1 jumps from B's front court, intercepts the pass, and lands in B's backcourt. I don't have access to my books right now, but I can find the rule if needed. Blackhawk 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	There's only one thing that makes the adrenalin run as high as a packed house and a good ball game ~ Big Mule Deer! www.HuntingNanselRanch.com  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |