The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   over and back? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7494-over-back.html)

ohref Sat Feb 15, 2003 08:17pm

I was watching the Louisville-Marquette game today and had a question about whether a play should have been called over-and-back. The Marquette player was advancing the ball up the floor while still in the backcourt, he then passed to a teammate who jumped from the front court, caught the ball in mid-air and landed in the backcourt. Is this a violation? I say no, but I need someone to back me up.

Mark Padgett Sat Feb 15, 2003 08:32pm

You won't find anybody here to do so. You are wrong, buddy.

Remember this saying - it pertains to "airborne" players: You are where you were until you get to where you're going.

Sven Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:32pm

Ohboy...ohref
 
If you're really a masochist and want a headache -- as well as an education in the subject, go here (courtesy of BktBallRef):

http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...?threadid=7343

Alternatively, hit the search icon, enter "backcourt" and read the threads until your eyes glaze over.;)

Sven

SHellmueller Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:40pm

Not a violation, here's why...
 
Actually, I happened to see the play live, and it went like so: A1 in backcourt, running end line after made basket, throws to A2. A2 jumps from frontcourt to catch ball, lands in backcourt. It wasn't called a violation which is correct.

Mark's "thing to remember" is a very good one. However, I think the more appropriate thing here is 9.9.2, exception 1:

EXCEPTION 1: It is not a violation when after a jump ball or a throw-in, a player is the first to secure control of the ball while both feet are off the floor and he/she then returns to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.

Now, here's a quiz for you: Say the same play occurred but A1 had already passed the ball inbounds to A2, so the throw-in was over. Now what's your call?

BktBallRef Sat Feb 15, 2003 11:50pm

Re: Not a violation, here's why...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by SHellmueller
Now, here's a quiz for you: Say the same play occurred but A1 had already passed the ball inbounds to A2, so the throw-in was over. Now what's your call?
That's already been answered. Read the orignial post. That's exactly what was posted and what Padgett directly called a BC violation.

The play you described in your initial comment is different that the original post.

SHellmueller Sun Feb 16, 2003 03:23am

Yep, you're right!

Must have misread the post, assuming he was talking about a play I noticed in the game. Don't remember the actual play...


Blackhawk357 Sun Feb 16, 2003 05:02pm

There is one other exception to this rule.
It is not a BC violation if, during a pass from A1, B1 jumps from B's front court, intercepts the pass, and lands in B's backcourt.
I don't have access to my books right now, but I can find the rule if needed.

Blackhawk

BktBallRef Sun Feb 16, 2003 05:44pm

Both exceptions are found under 9-9-2.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1