![]() |
|
|||
![]()
NCAA Rule 10 Fouls and Penalties
Section 5 - Direct Technical Foul for Unsporting Player Conduct Article 3 * Purposely obstructing an opponent's vision by waving or placing hand(s) near his or her eyes. NFHS Rule 10 Fouls and Penalties Section 3 - Player Technical Article 8 * Commit an unsporting foul. This includes, but is not limited to, acts or conduct such as: c. Obstructing the vision of an opponent not in control of the ball by waving hands near his/her eyes. Note: Purposely diverting an opponent's attention by waving is different than holding or waving the hands near the opponent's eyes for the express purpose of obstructing the vision so that he/she cannot catch the ball. Here's my concern: These two are saying very different things. In NCAA, is it a technical to put a hand in the shooter/player in control of ball/dribbler's face/eyes, but legal to do so in NFHS since it says "opponent NOT IN CONTROL OF THE BALL?" I've never seen this called in a game, but I have seen defenders reach out with their arms and place their hand(s) right in a shooter's face/eyes. Also, what is the "NOTE" (NFHS) trying to get us to understand? If anyone can help me out, I'd be grateful. Thanks! --TGR |
Bookmarks |
|
|