| 
				  
 
			
			NCAA Rule 10 Fouls and PenaltiesSection 5 - Direct Technical Foul for Unsporting Player Conduct
 Article 3 * Purposely obstructing an opponent's vision by waving or placing hand(s) near his or her eyes.
 
 NFHS Rule 10 Fouls and Penalties
 Section 3 - Player Technical
 Article 8 * Commit an unsporting foul. This includes, but is not limited to, acts or conduct such as:
 c. Obstructing the vision of an opponent not in control of the ball by waving hands near his/her eyes.
 Note: Purposely diverting an opponent's attention by waving is different than holding or waving the hands near the opponent's eyes for the express purpose of obstructing the vision so that he/she cannot catch the ball.
 
 Here's my concern:
 These two are saying very different things. In NCAA, is it a technical to put a hand in the shooter/player in control of ball/dribbler's face/eyes, but legal to do so in NFHS since it says "opponent NOT IN CONTROL OF THE BALL?"
 
 I've never seen this called in a game, but I have seen defenders reach out with their arms and place their hand(s) right in a shooter's face/eyes.
 
 Also, what is the "NOTE" (NFHS) trying to get us to understand? If anyone can help me out, I'd be grateful. Thanks!
 --TGR
 
			
			
			
			
				  |