The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Feb 10, 2003, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member

I am new to basketball and my association (in Canada) has just switched from FIBA to NCAA rules. I think they are hanging on to some old ideas/rules/mechanics but I am not sure.

- does the NCAA handle throw ins in the backcourt?

Also, I know that they are using some old mechanics (wrong signal for player control etc). How does a new official tell the old guard that they have their heads up their ***?

Please let me know what you think.

Thanks
Old Mon Feb 10, 2003, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by hab_in_exile

- does the NCAA handle throw ins in the backcourt?
Yes. All throw-ins are handled by an official.

Quote:

Also, I know that they are using some old mechanics (wrong signal for player control etc).
The mechanic for a team control foul (new this year---all fouls by a player on offense are treated like the old player control foul, with no free throws even if in the bonus) differs between the men and the women. The men's mechanic is the old player control signal (hand behind neck). The women's mechanic is new this year---a closed fist punch.
Old Mon Feb 10, 2003, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
I thought that even FIBA handled all throw-ins now. I know that in international play, the player used to be able to just pick up the ball and inbound it after an OOB. The only reason I know that is b/c Larry Bird tried it in the NBA one time after the "Dream Team" went to the Olympics But I thought that FIBA changed that rule a while ago.

Was it ever changed? Or am I imagining things again?

Chuck
Old Mon Feb 10, 2003, 08:12pm
Official Forum Member

Yes, Chuck, all throw-ins are handled by an official in FIBA.
Old Mon Feb 10, 2003, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member