The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7
At the end of overtime, the official scorer notices that the home team scored one additional point in the 4th quarter before the officials leave the court and verify the final score (Visitor 62, Home 61).

The referee rules that once overtime begins, there can be no corrections to the previous quarter. Is this correct?

I agree that the home team can't be declared the winner in regulation once overtime starts, but if the error is spotted before the final score is recognized, can't the official add the point and play a second overtime if he feels the error is justifed?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to fletch_irwin_m
Once the ball is tossed that is the end of any correctible errors.
__________________
To Be Successful, One Must First Define What Success is.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 188
What happens if it's just a difference between the book and the scoreboard?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 336
NFHS Casebook 2.11.10 B

Correct the score and continue game. Just hope the error isn't discovered with 1 second left in OT and a tie score.
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2003, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 136
A scorebook error can be corrected anytime until the score is declared final by the officials. In Fed, as long as at least on of the officials is still within the visual confines of the court, it is not officially over yet. So yes, they could add the point in this sitch and play another overtime if it was simply an addition error by the scorekeeper.
This situation does not fall under the correctable error rule. This is simply a scorebook error.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1