The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and back (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7340-over-back.html)

Dubby Wed Feb 05, 2003 01:08pm

Situation: A1 has possession in the front court. B2 hits the ball out of A1's hands. The ball goes off of A1's leg and then into the backcourt. A1 is the frirst
to touch the ball in the backcourt. Over-and-back? If so can you please reference the rule? I believe it is but can't find the rule. Thanks.

Jake80 Wed Feb 05, 2003 01:12pm

NFHS 9-9-1 - "A player of the team in control shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Dubby Wed Feb 05, 2003 01:15pm

Thanks Jake80. That's what I was looking for.

MN BB Ref Wed Feb 05, 2003 01:24pm

On a loose ball is A1's team still in control? Does that make a difference in this scenario? The way I interpret the rule we would have a violation in this particular case.

How does everyone else interpret this?

Dave

Viking32 Wed Feb 05, 2003 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MN BB Ref
On a loose ball is A1's team still in control? Does that make a difference in this scenario? The way I interpret the rule we would have a violation in this particular case.

How does everyone else interpret this?

Dave

*** 4-12-2 & 3
A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble.

Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.

*** 9-9-1
A player of the team in control shall not:
...Be the first to touch a ball after it has been in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.


Because Team A had team control, was the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt and the first to touch it in the backcourt without Team B securing possession of the ball, it is over-and-back.

rainmaker Wed Feb 05, 2003 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MN BB Ref
On a loose ball is A1's team still in control? Does that make a difference in this scenario? The way I interpret the rule we would have a violation in this particular case.

Team control lasts until the other team gains control, or until a shot goes up, or until dead ball. I think.

fletch_irwin_m Wed Feb 05, 2003 01:30pm

You must have been at my game last nite. I had this exact same thing happen in the first 2 minutes of the game. The coach about blew a gasket. THEN a few minutes later, B1 knocks the ball out of A1's hands but does not hit A1 before going back court. A1 picks it up and there is no call. At that point he blew the gasket and wanted to know why THAT wasn't over and back. I told him it was a different play and he said no. Coaching is a lot less stressful if you know the rules IMHO

Viking32 Wed Feb 05, 2003 01:33pm

Actually, I had just attempted to clarify this rule for a coach that had it happen to him last night. I'm still not sure if he believes it or not.

ChuckElias Wed Feb 05, 2003 02:01pm

Hey Dave,

I'm guessing that the Lama doesn't carry a lot of money. But on your deathbed, you'll probably receive perfect consciousness. So you got that going for you, which is nice. . .

Chuck :D

MN BB Ref Wed Feb 05, 2003 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Hey Dave,

I'm guessing that the Lama doesn't carry a lot of money. But on your deathbed, you'll probably receive perfect consciousness. So you got that going for you, which is nice. . .

Chuck :D

Chuck,

If only I could get that perfect consciousness working for me on the BB court...that would be REALLY nice!! :D


Mark Padgett Wed Feb 05, 2003 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MN BB Ref

If only I could get that perfect consciousness working for me on the BB court...that would be REALLY nice!! :D

I'd settle for any form of consciousness. :p

BigJoe Wed Feb 05, 2003 07:45pm

When I explain this rule to people (coaches) with limited rules knowledge, I use the sideline analogy. They seem to understand this easier. I would say, if team A was in control of the ball and team B batted the ball off of A1's leg and went OOB it would be B's ball, correct. Instant light bulb. This they can understand.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1