The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2003, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by DrakeM
Here's my take,
I know this particular rule point has been argued before, but, if a dribbler purposely goes out-of bounds to avoid a defender, leaving the ball on the court, then comes back in and continues the dribble, that is ILLEGAL! Violation, B's ball. So in this case;
If B1 has legal guarding position, A1 "forces" his way through the gap, bumps into A1, goes out of bounds,
then regains dribble after coming inbounds, Violation on A1,
award B the ball.
Based on what rule reference, Drake.

Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mregor


IF the player intentionally dribbles around the def player, steps OOB, comes back and continues the dribble, it's OOB, going the other way.
Intentionally has nothing to do with it. If the ball momentarily gets away from the dribbler, IT IS AN INTERRUPTED DRIBBLE.
Not in my opinion. Intention has everything to do with it. An interrupted dribble is when the ball bounces off a foot or the player looses it (wish I had a book here). If they intentionally bounce the the ball inbounds, step OOB, come back in, and continues the dribble, that is not an interrupted dribble. In my opinion there is no interruption and as soon as the player steps OOB it's a violation. I'm done.

Mregor
Sorry Rog, but the rule book disagrees with your opinion.

4-15-5
An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.

Note that the words "intentional" and "accidental" are not included. The simple fact is that if the ball has momentarily gotten away from the player. Therefore, it is an interrupted dribble, no matter whether intenional or not.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1