The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2003, 10:24pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally posted by Sven
I need to clarify. The contact was, in my judgment, too slight to merit a player control foul. Further, while OOB,
A1 did not appear to contact the ball. Interrupted dribble, perhaps?

It looked odd, but I think it was a legal play.

Sven

Lets forget about the contact between the two players and just concern ourselves with A1 dribbling the ball. When A1 is dribbling the ball, A1 (by definition) is in player control of the ball. Therefore, if any part of A1 touches out-of-bounds while dribbling the ball, A1 has caused the ball to go out-of-bounds. A1 does not have to be in contact with the ball when he/she touches out-of-bounds.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1