The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Feb 04, 2003, 09:17am
Official Forum Member

I am new to the officiating side of hoops. Coached the last 7 years and was watching a varsity game last night and was asked an interesting question by a guy I used to coach with that I could not answer confidently.

Team A is down in the final minute and are subing off and def players. Team A scores a basket and calls timeout. Team A subs def players. Team B inbounds after the timeout and trys to go long and hits the ceiling. Team A gets the ball and subs their off players back in. The question to me was is that allowed since no time came off the clock. I said yes because there was a violation. Is that correct? FYI the subs were allowed in the game.

Thanks
Old Tue Feb 04, 2003, 09:37am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
A player who is removed, or who is directed to leave the game must remain out of the game until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has properly started.

Chuck
Old Tue Feb 04, 2003, 09:43am
Official Forum Member

The stipulation of the clock starting only applies to those players that have been replaced due to injury or equipment problems. Otherwise they are allowed to sub.

Mregor
Old Tue Feb 04, 2003, 09:49am
Official Forum Member

Thanks...so if I understand you correctly this sub was ok
Old Tue Feb 04, 2003, 09:56am
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally posted by ptobs*
Thanks...so if I understand you correctly this sub was ok
The subs are not legal.
Look at Chucks reply.
Chuck is correct as usual.
Old Tue Feb 04, 2003, 09:59am
Official Forum Member

It is amazing that no one picked up on this and said something.
Old Tue Feb 04, 2003, 10:03am
In Memoriam

Quote:
It is amazing that no one picked up on this and said something.