The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 01, 2003, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 237
In a NFHS game we must also take into account one second of "lag time". In your sitch this means that the ball must be legally inbounded to a player (clock starts), then once the player controls the ball time-out is requested, then the official grants time-out (clock stops). Once the official grants the time-out there may be as much as one second run off before the timer stops the clock. I would suppose that any or all of the 3 sec. may run off the clock, but certainly some time must be consumed in this situation.

Was the request for time-out made before inbounding? If the request was made, and granted, before the thrower-in released the ball, then no time should be run off the clock even though the player subsequently (27 scrabble points for that word) releases the ball on the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1