The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Make the call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/72156-make-call.html)

bainsey Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 766323)
Do you really think that's an acceptable answer for a coach or a supervisor?

I don't know why you keep harping on this. Asked and answered, counselor.

I should've gone with our standard line, "In my judgment..."

Adam Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 766341)
I don't know why you keep harping on this.

Because when the coach sends the tape in and it's clear that A1 took two dribbles after B1 pushed A2, and you counted the basket, you're going to have to answer to your supervisor.

You'll have one of three problems.

1. Integrity.
2. Judgment.
3. Rules knowledge.

The fourth option is that the supervisor will agree with Camron's expansion of the TF case play to apply to intentional fouls.

I would much rather have a supervisor tell me I should go with Camron's reasoning than explain to me why my rules knowledge needs some work.

bainsey Fri Jun 17, 2011 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 766342)
I would much rather have a supervisor tell me I should go with Camron's reasoning than explain to me why my rules knowledge needs some work.

+1

When I finally have this play in five to seven years, I'll know what to do.

Raymond Fri Jun 17, 2011 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 766345)
+1

When I finally have this play in five to seven years, I'll know what to do.

You've never had an intentional foul on a break-away? :confused:

I just had one in camp 2 weeks ago. Had at least 2 last season. It is not uncommon.

Raymond Fri Jun 17, 2011 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 766341)
I don't know why you keep harping on this. Asked and answered, counselor.

I should've gone with our standard line, "In my judgment..."


Again, what does judgement have to do with it? Intentional foul, 2 dribbles, shot, made basket. What is the ruling? It has already been determined that a foul has to be called and it has already been determined there were 2 dribbles before A1 began his try.

And notice, I've never once said your ruling is wrong. I've only said that you need to be able to explain it. And if you can't explain it here clearly and precisely with the help of the backspace key and delete button then you are going to have a real problem when you are on the court.

Every play I discuss on these boards I discuss as if I had to explain my decision to a coach or a supervisor. I'm in to real-world application. So that's why I keeping harping about it. Because calls you make reflect upon not only yourself, they also reflect upon the crew, the crew chief, and the supervisor.

ontheway Mon Jun 20, 2011 12:22am

yeah if theres a question about the foul. a1 is at the FT line extended you see an off ball foul GO GET IT! maybe B1 was attempting to stop the play?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1