The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dwyane Wade's play at the end of Game 4 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/71769-dwyane-wades-play-end-game-4-a.html)

phightin Wed Jun 08, 2011 01:31am

Dwyane Wade's play at the end of Game 4
 
The ball was passed from the frontcourt, into the frontcourt to Wade. He deflected the pass (never had possession), the ball bounced towards the half-court line, and he dived to grab the ball and throw it backwards to Miller. He said after the game he was trying to avoid a backcourt violation.

If he had just let the ball go and picked it up in the backcourt, would this have been a violation? You're allowed to inbound it into the backcourt from he front court, and since he never had possession on the initial pass, I don't think it would have been a violation. Wade was too cautious.

Is this correct?

JRutledge Wed Jun 08, 2011 01:42am

NBA rules are different sometimes and I am not 100% sure if the NBA rule is the same as other codes. This would not have been a BC violation in NF or NCAA Rules as I see it. It might have been in the NBA and players often do not know the rules, so I would not bank too much on what he said.

Peace

APG Wed Jun 08, 2011 02:14am

358. Following a regular or 20-second timeout, Team A exercises its option and moves the ball to the 28' hash mark. On the throw-in Player A1 passes the ball to Player A2 who is positioned in the backcourt. What is the ruling?

During the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or overtime, any throw-in may be passed anywhere on the playing court. Frontcourt/ backcourt status is established when a player with the ball secures a positive position on the court.

RULE 4 - SECTION V - g
RULE 8 - SECTION III - e (EXCEPTION)

Dwayne could have let the ball go into the backcourt with no issue as he never established a positive position in the frontcourt with the ball. This play, IMO, was similar to when Jason Terry fumbled the ball on a throw-in and allowed the ball to go into the backcourt on a the play before this.

APG Wed Jun 08, 2011 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by phightin (Post 763999)

If he had just let the ball go and picked it up in the backcourt, would this have been a violation? You're allowed to inbound it into the backcourt from he front court, and since he never had possession on the initial pass, I don't think it would have been a violation. Wade was too cautious.

Is this correct?

Also want to point out that in the NBA the ball is allowed to go into the backcourt in this situation only in the final two minutes of the fourth quarter or any overtime period.

This is different than NF and NCAA where this play would be legal at any point in the game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1