The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Question about an inbounds pass on the baseline (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/7090-question-about-inbounds-pass-baseline.html)

South Bay HHVBC Wed Jan 22, 2003 12:41am

I think i know the answer, but I am not sure about this. I'll Try my best to describe the situation

Team A commits an inbounding violation by stepping over the baseline underneath team B's basket. Team B is then awarded the ball at that same spot. Now, I know team B is not allowed to run the baseline from this point after the initial infraction by Team A. Player taking the ball out on Team B is shuffling his feet p and down, taking about 8 steps, but all in the same place, basically like his jumping up and down. The referee blows his whistle and calls traveling. I asked him what why he called it traveling and he said because the inbounder took more than 1 step. I was thinking that its one step in either direction from the point of inbounds but with that call, now im unsure. Can someone clarify for me?

Thanks


canuckrefguy Wed Jan 22, 2003 12:46am

All I have to say is....

W H A T ? ? ? ?

South Bay HHVBC Wed Jan 22, 2003 12:49am

..
 
well, thats kinda what i was sayin to when it happened. Sorry if it seems confusing

canuckrefguy Wed Jan 22, 2003 02:19am

I checked out sections of the NCAA book on throw-ins, out-of-bounds and the throw-in, travelling, and violations.

The only movement-related restrictions on the thrower in the situation you outlined are that they cannot leave the designated spot, and they may not step into the playing court. You can stand on your head to throw-in as long as you don't leave from the designated spot.

Not sure what that official was thinking.

zebraman Wed Jan 22, 2003 02:24am

This wasn't another D-1 ref was it? :-)
Z

Quote:

Originally posted by South Bay HHVBC
I think i know the answer, but I am not sure about this. I'll Try my best to describe the situation

Team A commits an inbounding violation by stepping over the baseline underneath team B's basket. Team B is then awarded the ball at that same spot. Now, I know team B is not allowed to run the baseline from this point after the initial infraction by Team A. Player taking the ball out on Team B is shuffling his feet p and down, taking about 8 steps, but all in the same place, basically like his jumping up and down. The referee blows his whistle and calls traveling. I asked him what why he called it traveling and he said because the inbounder took more than 1 step. I was thinking that its one step in either direction from the point of inbounds but with that call, now im unsure. Can someone clarify for me?

Thanks



canuckrefguy Wed Jan 22, 2003 02:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
This wasn't another D-1 ref was it? :-)
Z

OOOOOOOOH....SCORE A DIRECT HIT

I LOVE IT ! ! !

Hawks Coach Wed Jan 22, 2003 11:12am

Repeat after me
 
There is no travelling on an inbounds play. There is no. . .

Mregor Wed Jan 22, 2003 11:30am

Designated spot is 3 feet wide, indeffintely deep. Only have to keep one foot over the designated spot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1