![]() |
Quote:
|
Not to be picky, but the only signal that is supposed to be given to the table on a team control foul is the team control signal (as per the CCA Women's Manual).
:) Rich [Edited by Rich Fronheiser on Jan 22nd, 2003 at 11:23 AM] |
Quote:
|
My book is different than your book.
Quote:
What does your book say? |
Quote:
In these cases, the infraction is still a foul and the foul is still a block/hold/push/etc. and should be indicated as such. Only then should the extra be added...not in place of the defined signals. Quote:
I would suggest that calling this traveling is no better then stating/signaling a foul as "a reach" or "over-the-back". Just as there are no such infractions, there is no travelling on a throwin. Quote:
|
D@mn! Four pages of posts in 12 hours. We guys sure have been busy today.
I was tired after reading just the first page! :D |
Quote:
Now I also don't think that this was a tough call, it was an obvious violation. Was it an intense situation? Yes. But I don't believe that it took any great intestinal fortitude to make this call. Just blow the little whistle. This official did that. That's great, but isn't that what he gets $500 to do? Even if he did know the rule, I have a problem with him not setting a good example for other officials, and for furthering confusion such as this: http://www.officialforum.com/thread/7090 Lastly, a big thanks to Camron, who has wonderfully captured my original purpose for this post in his points throughout this thread. |
Quote:
a) you have sh1t D1 referees in your area b) he was pulling your leg c) he doesn't really do D1 (or D2, or D3). IMO. |
Re: My book is different than your book.
Quote:
D. Team Control Foul Signal 1. Blow the whistle and raise fist in the air to stop the clock. 2. Follow with punch signal at the spot of the foul. 3. Punch signal should be in the direction the ball will be awarded (signal #21). 4. When reporting, give punch at table. 13.B is different than you say, too. Says nothing about a preliminary signal, unless the foul is a team control, intentional, or double foul. You have the 2002-03 manual? We are talking CCA women's, right? Rich |
Same book
Quote:
13.B.4(b) is on page 35. mick |
I'll look there when I get home.
I think that by adding the new signal this season they may have introduced an inconsistency in the manual. I do know the D-I women's games I worked I've only seen that signal on all team control fouls. I like the signal, but don't think it really conveys any information other than "we're going the other way and not shooting free throws." Rich |
Quote:
Rich, I am beginning to understand your above statement. And, yes, I agree that is the only signal to give when only a Team Control foul is reported. I did not understand that you were writing to the specifica case of "Team Control". mick |
Corrected my original post to make it clearer.
Thanks. Rich |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47pm. |