The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 08:21am
Official Forum Member

Please read the article linked and provide some opinion.

http://www.cumberlink.com/articles/2...s/sports06.txt
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 09:16am
Official Forum Member

My two cents

Being a referee, I like the rule. I have never coached, so I cannot comment on how you feel. I do feel that a coach on his/her feet seem to be more animated. I have given coaches less than 5 T's since I recertified seven years ago. I attribute that to the seat belt rule in part. (The other parts could be that I have excellent management skills; or, I am such a crummy ref that the coaches have long since stopped harrassing me, knowing I am hopeless and clueless; or, maybe I have enormously thick skin; or, maybe I am deaf). I read about all the T's given by others here on the board, but for whatever reason I don't see it in my games and the games I watch. Yes, T's are given out, but to me it seem less here in PA compared to the rest of the country.

I concede that the seatbelt rule is harder on coaches, but it is a hardship that both coaches have to endure. If the tradeoff is less T's in a game on coaches, then I feel it is a good rule.
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 09:16am
Official Forum Member

Their knees hurt from kneeling? So sit instead. Wah.

We have the coaches box here in Washington and I don't see how it makes the coaches any better. Sitting or standing, I couldn't care less either way.

Z
Old Fri Jan 17, 2003, 09:37am
Official Forum Member