The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 06:46pm
TGR TGR is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 44
Here's the situation: I officiated a Men's Junior College game last night. A player from Team A dunked the ball with about 1:30 to go in warmups. I informed my partner of the "T" and we went over to meet the coaches. At that time, I informed the table and the coaches of the technical. Fine so far. As I am instructing the scorekeeper about how to proceed, the coach has a question about the situation. Now, there's about 15 seconds left before the horn is supposed sounds to end the warmup. As I am speaking to the coach, my partner grabs the ball, gets a player from Team B and has him shoot the "T." The coach then gets upset because we shot the "T" before the time ran out for warmups. Personally, I didn't think it mattered and explained that to the coach. We then proceeded to start the game from point of interruption (the jump ball). After this, things went fine.

My partner and I agreed that if that happened to us in the future we would just take our time and wait until the clock runs down. However, my question is this: Does it say anywhere in the rules that you have to wait until the clock reaches 0:00 before shooting the technical?

Thanks for any comments or rulebook citations.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1