The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Fell asleep me, woke up Padg (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/69946-fell-asleep-me-woke-up-padg.html)

tref Mon May 16, 2011 10:10am

Fell asleep me, woke up Padg
 
So, I get my first shot at assigning over the weekend! I understand too well now... tough gig!! Basically, if a team loses, they're complaining about the officials, PERIOD!


I had a 8am cancellation, so now I get to work 5/6th grade boys for 4 hours :rolleyes:
Early 1st half of the 2nd semi-final on Sunday morning.
A1s attempt hits the ring, apparently bounces straight up, hits the pole & falls in.
Team Bs coach (who I've already spoke to once) losses his mind...

I'm tableside L *WHACK!* "My time, everyone to your benches."

I ask my inexperienced partner (T) what they saw & the deer in headlights look is what I got back.
Out of all the times NOT to expand my primary! I've got nothing on the play but something just aint right :eek:

The tablecrew consisted of 1 parent from each team. They concur that the ball hit the pole. I wave off the unmeritted goal, my partner administers the FTs as I talk to the coach who had been waiting (like a 5th/6th grader) for an "explanation" of his T.

Is there rule support for that decision or am I making up rules again???

After I break the coach completely down in a very professional, non-threatening, this-is-the-way-its-gonna-be-today, type of way... it was sir this & sir that for the remainder of the contest that they won by 15+.

That by far was the most challenging play of the day for me :D

Adam Mon May 16, 2011 11:09am

Might have been a good time to teach the coach how to deal with obvious missed calls in a game with 12 year old kids.

tref Mon May 16, 2011 11:13am

Trust me, he knows all about CEs & the correct way to go about rectifying it.

Can I bring the table in for help on this play, by rule?

Adam Mon May 16, 2011 11:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 758856)
Trust me, he knows all about CEs & the correct way to go about rectifying it.

Can I bring the table in for help on this play, by rule?

I'm not talking about CEs, this doesn't qualify. It's simply a missed call and he obviously had a wrong expectation of how he could respond to it.

I'm honestly not sure you can. I'm more inclined to eat the miss here.

tref Mon May 16, 2011 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 758860)
I'm honestly not sure you can. I'm more inclined to eat the miss here.

I thought "eroneously counting a score" would come into play here??
Since I whacked the coach, we had a dead ball after the mistake was recognized...

BLydic Mon May 16, 2011 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 758833)
After I break the coach completely down in a very professional, non-threatening, this-is-the-way-its-gonna-be-today, type of way... it was sir this & sir that for the remainder of the contest that they won by 15+.

Good thing you listened to your conflict resolution, effective communication CD over breakfast :)

Adam Mon May 16, 2011 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 758861)
I thought "eroneously counting a score" would come into play here??
Since I whacked the coach, we had a dead ball after the mistake was recognized...

Could you go back and call a travel that occurred before the T if the table agreed, thus waving off a score? The ball was live, the score counts IMO.

tref Mon May 16, 2011 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BLydic (Post 758869)
Good thing you listened to your conflict resolution, effective communication CD over breakfast :)

LMAO! It was rough because he kept wanting to say his piece, it went better once he finally realized that it was a one way topic.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 758872)
Could you go back and call a travel that occurred before the T if the table agreed, thus waving off a score? The ball was live, the score counts IMO.

Makes sense. Probably why I cant find a caseplay :eek:
I always say, better to kick em in the spring than in the winter...

Adam Mon May 16, 2011 04:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 758876)
Makes sense. Probably why I cant find a caseplay :eek:
I always say, better to kick em in the spring than in the winter...

Let me say this, while I don't think I'd do it the way you did, the entire environment of a 5th/6th grade game is different and I might find myself doing it. Especially in your situation, with a rookie partner and an agreeable table. I just hate to reward a coach for being a knucklehead.

The important thing here, however, is that he got his well-earned T.

I would have simply told him, "coach, we may well have missed that call, but I can't call something I didn't see." From there, proceed with whatever you told him to get him to behave.

tref Mon May 16, 2011 04:29pm

Yezzir! After several opinions on this play, I've come to the conclusion that this is an officials error & cannot be corrected in a sanctioned ballgame.

26 Year Gap Mon May 16, 2011 06:33pm

I had one last season where I was lead with about four players under the basket and my partner signaled a good three. I just saw the net move in my periphery. The opposing coach claimed it did not go in. At the next dead ball, I went to my partner and asked him what he saw. He said it went in. We moved on. At halftime, one of the varsity crew said it did NOT go in and the RIGHT thing to do would be to take away the points. I told him I couldn't do that because the time had passed. We did go to the table at half and asked them what they saw. The scorer said it did not go in and my partner, who we will call "GIGDGO", said he was not impartial. Fortunately, it was not a close game at the end and the extra 3 points for the visitors meant losing by 17 instead of 20. I did let my partner know that we could ask for help from the table and that they were on our team. What we could do with that information was up to us. Of course, it was too late to do anything about it, and all we would have been able to do was to let the home coach know we missed the call.

BillyMac Mon May 16, 2011 06:45pm

Been There, Done That ...
 
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post391142

Andy Tue May 17, 2011 10:50am

Quote:

After I break the coach completely down in a very professional, non-threatening, this-is-the-way-its-gonna-be-today, type of way...
I may steal this for my signature line.....

tref Wed May 18, 2011 09:38am

Thx Billy! Sorry you had to experience that in a game that matters.
It seems as though, other than 2-3 there is no rule support for bringing the table in on those type of decisions.

Funny, I had the same play in a mens league on Monday night!
This time my gut feeling said sneak-a-peak & just as the players began to officiate that play, I was able to pick up what the T missed as he leaked out on the release.

I'm convinced now, floor mechanics are merely guidelines & experience tells us there's always an exception to the rule.

Multiple Sports Wed May 18, 2011 11:45am

100 hrs as Padg....................
 
So tref, it is now been about 5 days since you woke up as Padg, could you tell us what life changes you have gone through ?????

I.E. loss of hair , woman staring you down in the street, getting a killer ms schedule........


Also please discuss all pros and cons by being Padg.......

Thanks,

Mullt


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1