The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2003, 04:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I understand the play to be that A1 was dribbling down the lane, then ends the dribble and/(while) jumps/(ing) for a shot, but then decides while in the air to pass the ball back out. A1 is then the first player to touch this pass.
After some thought, I believe that A1 has committed both a traveling violation and a double dribble violation. So either call is correct.
If the pass hit the floor before A1 retreived it, then this can be considered a dribble. 4-15-3. Since A1 has already dribbled before jumping this is a second dribble. 9-5
It is also a traveling violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. 4-43-3c
If the pass never hit the floor, then A1 has only traveled.
Lastly, if A1 somehow was able to penetrate the lane without dribbling and then does this, it is only a travel.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1