The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2003, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 76
Hi guys, what would you do?

Player receives 4th foul, then receives unsportsmanlike technical foul for mouthing. That is his 5th foul, disqualified. Before he reaches the bench he receives another unsportsmanlike technical foul for mouthing, which would be his second technical foul.

Question-Is he ejected? Or, even though he was still on the floor as a disqualified player, would his second "t" go towards the bench? Who gets the direct's and the indirects in this case?

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2003, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 778
4-14-2 he doesn't become bench personnel until the coach is notified of his disqualification. You shouldn't remove him unless you are sure he is going to be a continuing problem for the rest of the game and if you do he MUST be accompanied by and adult.
__________________
Church Basketball "The brawl that begins with a prayer"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2003, 10:54am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by John Schaefferkoetter
Hi guys, what would you do?

Player receives 4th foul, then receives unsportsmanlike technical foul for mouthing. That is his 5th foul, disqualified. Before he reaches the bench he receives another unsportsmanlike technical foul for mouthing, which would be his second technical foul.

Question-Is he ejected? Or, even though he was still on the floor as a disqualified player, would his second "t" go towards the bench? Who gets the direct's and the indirects in this case?

thanks in advance
I presume that you are talking FED rules,John.
The player is ejected from the game for his second T,and it goes into the score book that way.The head coach would only get an indirect T-for a bench player getting a T,if the official had informed him that the player was disqualified for receiving 5 fouls.If the player gets the 2nd. T before the coach is notified,then there's no indirect T involved.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2003, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
First off, in NF, a player is never ejected - they are only disqualified. Ejection is reserved for howler monkeys.

After the fifth foul, the second T still goes in the book (some states may have specific penalties for being DQ'ed for recieving 2 technical fouls), but he's still not disqualified until the coach is notified.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1