The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   In-bounds pass to nobody? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/6846-bounds-pass-nobody.html)

whistleblower Mon Jan 06, 2003 03:22pm

Had this last night in a girls 8th grade game. I am a boys official but I coach my daughter's team. A1 is taking the ball out on the baseline after a basket by B. Nobody from team A is in the back court to receive the pass. After about 3 or 4 seconds, A1 releases the ball into the backcourt, where it slowly rolls forward toward the division line. A1 enters the court, follows the ball but does not touch it. This goes on for about 5 or 6 seconds, when finally B1 comes back to try to pick up the ball. After B1 touches, A1 promptly steals the ball. Under NCAA women's rules, was there a violation on the play, and when should the ten-second count have started? Is there a ten-second count in girls NCAA?

DownTownTonyBrown Mon Jan 06, 2003 03:26pm

The throw-in has not ended until it is touched. No team control... no 10-second count. I don't know about Women's NCAA but I'm thinking that they do have a 10-second rule. Somebody will clarify.

bigwhistle Mon Jan 06, 2003 03:28pm

The play the way you described it is legal on all levels. Until the ball is possessed inbounds there will not be a 10 second count.

Under NCAA women's, which you asked about, there is not a 10 second backcourt count. However, there can be a 5 second closely guarded count while holding the ball in the backcourt.

MN 3 Sport Ref Mon Jan 06, 2003 03:33pm

A throw-in ends when it touches (or is touched by) another player. Thus the inbounder did not actually pass the ball to themself, they recovered a loose ball so to speak.

jking_94577 Mon Jan 06, 2003 07:10pm

5 second inbound rule
 
What about the five second inbound rule? Since the throw in does not end until it touches a player, can the inbounder be charged with a violation?

williebfree Mon Jan 06, 2003 07:17pm

Re: 5 second inbound rule
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jking_94577
What about the five second inbound rule? Since the throw in does not end until it touches a player, can the inbounder be charged with a violation?
The 5-second count ends when the inbounder releases the ball toward the court. You may be thinking of the "old" counting practice which continued until the ball was legally touched by a player (or legally touched a player). Some of the more seasoned veterans can tell you when this switch occurred.

hawkk Tue Jan 07, 2003 02:10pm

Re: Re: 5 second inbound rule
 
Quote:

Originally posted by williebfree
Quote:

Originally posted by jking_94577
What about the five second inbound rule? Since the throw in does not end until it touches a player, can the inbounder be charged with a violation?
The 5-second count ends when the inbounder releases the ball toward the court. You may be thinking of the "old" counting practice which continued until the ball was legally touched by a player (or legally touched a player). Some of the more seasoned veterans can tell you when this switch occurred.

I'm pretty sure that it changed in the mid 80's

PublicBJ Thu Jan 09, 2003 06:24pm

Re: Re: Re: 5 second inbound rule
 
Quote:

Originally posted by hawkk
I'm pretty sure that it changed in the mid 80's [/B]
Actually, it was around '89 or '90.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1