The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Jan 04, 2003, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member

I'm in my first year and would like to know if its advisable to tell your partner that you are a Rookie? Reason I ask is that one time I told my partner I was a Rookie and rather than getting pointers , I was criticized and questioned all night. Keep in my mind I probably made some mistakes, however the approach shook my confidence. I felt like officiating wasn't for me.

A couple nights later I worked with a partner I feel is the best in the association. I told him "I was a Rookie" and his comments were totally apposite the other guy. He stated that "I didn't Ref like a Rookie and to keep up the good work". He also said "I used mechanics that some vets don't know about". I felt ready for the NBA.
Probably did well because I remebered all the other things from the critcizing Ref.

Ref Biography
I haven't attended any clinics (plan to this year and get certfied) everything I know comes from a NFHS Ref Mechanic Booklet, watching a lot of games and reading rule books along with the comments on this website. I officiate Intramural/Rec ball and both use NCAA rules with some slight changes.

I don't object to vets giving me pointers but don't appreciate being criticized and questioned like I'm a kid.

Do you say it (Rookie) or not????

Feedback, please.

BTW, I've been following you guys for a little while now and think this website is the best thing for youngs Refs. Keep up the good work.
Old Sat Jan 04, 2003, 07:10pm
In Memoriam

Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by Woodee

I don't object to vets giving me pointers but don't appreciate being criticized and questioned like I'm a kid.

Do you say it (Rookie) or not????

Woodee,
Face-to-face, at an Officials camp, or from this forum, some of us give information in different ways.