The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jan 10, 2003, 09:22am
Official Forum Member

Talking conflict of interest

OK, maybe I will, anyway there was a very simple solution, just talk to the other coach about the situation.........get everything above board, that's pretty easy, isn't it??
Old Fri Jan 10, 2003, 10:03am
Official Forum Member

Talking

Oh yeah, we are going to go to the other coach and get him ticked before the game even starts? I don't think so...Ma'am, with all due respect, we are the officials. You are not going to get any sympathy here, you should be whining on the http://www.howlermonkeys.com board, that is where coaches voice their concerns about officials.
Old Fri Jan 10, 2003, 10:26am
Esteemed Participant

I am wondering why you are so convinced it's an ethics problem?? As a teacher, I have reffed my schools (Middle School) games before in a pinch type situation, and had no problems calling fouls on "my" students... I ref many former students when they get to the HS level, and have no problems there either...why is it such a big issue for you? In my experience, the team that gets the short end of the stick in those situations is the team from the school where the ref teaches - we tend to be harder on them than the other team...by the way angelseven - what was the score of the game in question??
Old Fri Jan 10, 2003, 10:49am
Official Forum Member

Ethics are nice

In a perfect world.... Wait, that doesn't exist.

Firstly, often times schools are hard-pressed to come up with two officials and concern whether there is a conflict of interest is overlooked out of necessity.