The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 30, 2002, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
[QUOTELets address your second situation first. At the time that Coach B requested a timeout, B1 had player control of the ball. It does not matter that B1 then lost control of the ball between the time that Coach B made her request and you responded to her request. Valid timeout of Team B.

Your first situationn is tougher. I would bet apples to oranges that when Coach A said the word "time" he was close enough to you and directly behind you that one could assume that he was whispering sweet nothings in your ear. If that was the case, Coach A just made a successful request for a team timeout.
Mark
I agree with your reasoning on the original second (now your first) case. But you appear to be saying that the first original case should also be a TO - because the ref misunderstood, now a team is getting charged with a TO. To reset this situation, the ball is not even in the hands of the inbounder, so this is not a piece of gamesmanship on the part of a coach trying to avoid a 5 second count or a turnover. The coach did not want TO, had no obvious reason to pull a stunt to get the ref to blow a stoppage, and gained nothing by doing so even if he intended to pull a stunt - this is a dead ball. Please explain why this should be a TO.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1