The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 173
Shot goes in, then push foul. How often?

Instinctively, reactively, I seem to be calling these a lot lately.

A1 puts up a shot, as it is in the net, or already through (good basket) A3 is pushing B1. I have made this foul call several times lately, including once tonight in our youth tournee 8th grade girls playoff. I count the basket, report the foul and B team inbounds.

My question is how often do others make this call, -vs- letting it go?
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 12:30am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
By rule, the ball is dead after a made basket and contact is ignored unless you rule it to be intentional or flagrant. And by rule it'll be a technical foul.

Most likely I'm letting the play go unless I HAVE to get it.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 12:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
By rule, the ball is dead after a made basket and contact is ignored unless you rule it to be intentional or flagrant. And by rule it'll be a technical foul.

Most likely I'm letting the play go unless I HAVE to get it.
I knew I was kicking this somehow.

In tonight's game, I blew it before I saw that the shot was long over and made. Nothing int/flagrant there, so maybe could have gone IW.

I don't know why I have no problem going no-call during a dead-ball while we are inbounding (unless, as you said, int/flagrant), but I have had trouble lately holding back after a basket.

Something "I" need to work on.
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 12:44am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
I knew I was kicking this somehow.

In tonight's game, I blew it before I saw that the shot was long over and made. Nothing int/flagrant there, so maybe could have gone IW.

I don't know why I have no problem going no-call during a dead-ball while we are inbounding (unless, as you said, int/flagrant), but I have had trouble lately holding back after a basket.

Something "I" need to work on.
Once the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in, it's live. So I'm not sure what you mean here.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 12:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Once the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in, it's live. So I'm not sure what you mean here.
Ah, this brings me to a question I have been meaning to post....

NFHS, when IS the ball at the disposal of the thrower?

I have heard multiple different answers to this.

A) In their hands once OOB endline.

B) In their hands regardless of whether they are OOB.

C) On the floor but available to them.
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 01:01am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
Ah, this brings me to a question I have been meaning to post....

NFHS, when IS the ball at the disposal of the thrower?

I have heard multiple different answers to this.

A) In their hands once OOB endline.

B) In their hands regardless of whether they are OOB.

C) On the floor but available to them.
Generally it'll be A if the throw in team doesn't delay in getting the ball. Otherwise, if the team is not prompt in getting the ball and out of bounds the count will start (which means it is at the disposal). Sometimes that means it's at the disposal when the ball is on the ground or while a player has the ball in his hands but still inbounds.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 08:13pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Marq vs UNC

5 minutes to go in second half. Zeller (NC) gets the rebound and puts it in. After ball goes through, Gartner (Marq) helps Zellers to the floor. TWEET! Zellers goes to the line for 1 and 1.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 26, 2011, 08:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
5 minutes to go in second half. Zeller (NC) gets the rebound and puts it in. After ball goes through, Gartner (Marq) helps Zellers to the floor. TWEET! Zellers goes to the line for 1 and 1.
Adams won't like that one.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 26, 2011, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
5 minutes to go in second half. Zeller (NC) gets the rebound and puts it in. After ball goes through, Gartner (Marq) helps Zellers to the floor. TWEET! Zellers goes to the line for 1 and 1.
I saw it and didn't think the ball had gone through the basket when the foul occurred. There were several contacts as the guy went to the floor, any one of which might have been called. You might be right, though, I saw it in real time and one replay.

I'd think you'd call a common foul unless you were 100% certain the foul occurred after the bucket. Lead/new trail called the foul.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul while shot in air force39 Basketball 14 Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:26am
Question - One handed push in back WHILE Jump ball with other during shot bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Mar 08, 2005 09:06pm
Question - One handed push in back WHILE Jump ball with other during shot bradfordwilkins Basketball 1 Mon Mar 07, 2005 08:56pm
Foul Shot Burtis449 Basketball 10 Fri Sep 24, 2004 09:53am
Foul after shot JWC Basketball 3 Wed Dec 11, 2002 09:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1