![]() |
|
|
|
|||||
|
he's baaaaaack!
Quote:
4-41-5 ...The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower. 6-3-4 ...The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates. 6-3-5 ...The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. If either team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in, it does not cause the throw-in team to lose the possession arrow. This is purely syntax, but it is important. A violation does not cause a throw-in to end, unless it is an alternating-possession throw-in, it merely interrupts it. A foul only interrupts both kinds of throw-ins. Its occurrance does not cause either type of throw-in to end. Notice that the arrow does not reverse if a team fouls during an alternating-possession throw-in. This is because the throw-in never ended; it was interrupted. Hopefully, you learned something here. Quote:
Quote:
A player who steps onto the court while making a throw-in has violated, but only because the casebook play that you cite says so. To see my point ask yourself why this is a violation? Which one of the provisions of 9-2 has the thrower violated? The rules committee realized that the thrower has not violated any of them if he keeps one foot OOB, but wanted to make it clear that they had intended this to be a violation. Hence the casebook play. It would have been better if they had just added a new provision that said "Step inbounds with either one or both feet before releasing the ball on a throw-in pass." I admit that this seems strange at first, but after one examines it, it is true. I'll go through each article to see if stepping inbounds violates any of them. 1. Has the thrower left the throw-in spot? Not if he has kept one foot on or over it and only stepped into the court with one foot. 2. If the thrower has only stepped onto the court with one foot he is still located OOB. Therefore, if not for the clarification of the casebook play, he could still make the required pass. 3. Didn't pass the ball. 4. Didn't take 5 seconds. 5. Did he carry the ball onto the court? This one is the closest yet. It depends on your definition of "onto the court." Since the rules tell us that a player standing with one foot inbounds and one foot OOB is considered OOB, I would consider the player to not have carried the ball onto the court until BOTH feet have touched entirely inbounds. 6. No, because the ball is not in the court. 7. Didn't throw the ball. 8. Didn't throw the ball. 9. No one replaced him. 10. Never passed the ball. 11. Only applies to opponents. 12. No one else OOB. Quote:
Quote:
![]() [Edited by Nevadaref on Jan 9th, 2003 at 05:39 AM] |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|