The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 02, 2003, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Good question. All I can find along these lines are the casebook plays .... the way we interpret the rules.

I didn't read the entire thread so I hope I'm not repeating too much.

See CB 7.6.3B, page 55 of this season's book.
During an attempted throw-in, A1: (a) holds the ball through the palne of the end line and then passes it; (b) steps through the plane (makes contact with the floor inbounds) before passing the ball to A2; or (c) holds the ball through the plane and hands it to A2. Ruling; A legal throw-in in (a), but a throw-in violation in (b) and (c).

Held ball situation comes a little later in CB 7.6.3F, next page.

CB 7.6.3A shows no violation if contact is by Team B

Are these interpretations firmly supported by the rulebook??? Inadvertant/unintentional handoff to Team B - okay, good defense. Intentional handoff to Team A - not okay, violation. I think several areas of our rules have built-in contradiction.

The casebook often helps with these types of questions as they are an EXTENSION of the rules and more precisely show us their intent.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1